📜Simple Guide in making a Qualitative Research

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180514_184459.JPG
image source


When it was about time to take up thesis as a final requirement to finish what course I took, I was so frightened that I might fail. Then one of my professors told me that it is just so easy but still doubted myself and my capabilities as a student.

I realized it was all just in my head. I was just frightened because of the fact that I haven't started researching yet and I was thinking that research papers must be comprehensive to get a higher grade but I was wrong. My professor always remind me of KISS, Keep It Simple, Stupid.


WHAT IS A QUALITATIVE RESEARCH?

Qualitative Research is primarily exploratory research. It is used to gain an understanding of underlying reasons, opinions, and motivations. It provides insights into the problem or helps to develop ideas or hypotheses for potential quantitative research. Qualitative Research is also used to uncover trends in thought and opinions, and dive deeper into the problem. Qualitative data collection methods vary using unstructured or semi-structured techniques. Some common methods include focus groups (group discussions), individual interviews, and participation/observations. The sample size is typically small, and respondents are selected to fulfil a given quota. source


SIMPLE GUIDE FOR EVERYONE

Basically there are things that should be followed in order to make a qualitative research. These are the following things that should be found inside the research paper(Unless there are other things required for you to make):

  • Abstract
  • Statement of the problem
  • Scope and Limitation
  • Significance of the Study
  • Definition of Terms
  • Review of Related Literature
  • Theoretical Framework

In this post I will include an actual study I made along with the definition of each mentioned above. The title of the thesis I made was "The contemporary changes of Kadayawan in visual translation." Along with my manuscript is a painting that is also a requirement.


ABSTRACT

An abstract summarizes, usually 300 words or less, the major aspects of the entire paper in a prescribed sequence that includes: 1) the overall purpose of the study and the research problem(s) you investigated; 2) the basic design of the study; 3) major findings or trends found as a result of your analysis; and, 4) a brief summary of your interpretations and conclusions. source

Here's what I wrote
IMG_20180514_215419.JPG


STATEMENT OF THE PROBLEM

A clear concise description of the issue that needs to be addressed by the researcher. It is used to center and focus the researcher at the beginning, keep the researcher on track during the effort, and is used to validate that the effort delivered an outcome that solves the problem statement. source

Here's what I wrote
IMG_20180514_215524.JPG


SCOPE AND LIMITATION

The scope and limitations are very important to the nature of your study. As your study begins with your problem statement and purpose statement—outlining the reason and direction for your study, your study must also indicate its limitations. In addition to what your study intends to accomplish, a discussion of what your study intends not to accomplish is of importance and value as well. source

Here's what I wrote
IMG_20180514_221246.JPG


SIGNIFICANCE OF THE STUDY

An explanation of the significance of a study may include the meaning of the research work to you personally and should include how your research benefits or impacts others in part or whole. Discuss what people or groups of people might benefit from reading your research. Show how this project is significant to developing a body of knowledge. If your investigation will contribute to a portion of a larger investigation, describe that larger investigation as well. source

Here's what I wrote
IMG_20180514_225538.JPG


DEFINITION OF TERMS

Some of the words and names used in research can be confusing. We have worked with a panel of researchers and a panel of service users to develop a jargon buster and glossary of words. It contains the definitions of some of the terms commonly used in public involvement in research and explanations of the acronyms that are often used. It is not a complete list of all the words you might come across, but we are adding to them all of the time. source

Here's what I wrote
IMG_20180514_222446.JPG


REVIEW OF RELATED LITERATURE

A literature review is an evaluative report of information found in the literature related to your selected area of study. The review should describe, summarise, evaluate and clarify this literature. It should give a theoretical base for the research and help you (the author) determine the nature of your research. Works which are irrelevant should be discarded and those which are peripheral should be looked at critically. source

⚠️A VERY IMPORTANT REMINDER⚠️
don't ever forget to include citations after each paragraph

Here's what I wrote
IMG_20180515_001602.JPGIMG_20180515_001656.JPG


THEORETICAL FRAMEWORK

Theories are formulated to explain, predict, and understand phenomena and, in many cases, to challenge and extend existing knowledge within the limits of critical bounding assumptions. The theoretical framework is the structure that can hold or support a theory of a research study. The theoretical framework introduces and describes the theory that explains why the research problem under study exists. source

Here's what I wrote

Orientalism
IMG_20180515_003045.JPGIMG_20180515_003757.JPG

Semiotics
IMG_20180515_003723.JPGIMG_20180515_054905.JPG

Structuralism
IMG_20180515_054914.JPGIMG_20180515_003335.JPG


As I have said above that this manuscript has a painting along with it, I painted something that reflects all that is stated on this manuscript.

Here's the painting
FB_IMG_1513533146208.jpg

Moira means "the end point of our faith". It took me 4-5months to make this thesis considering the fact that along with the manuscript is a 4ft x 8ft huge realistic painting.


I can say that I have delivered my thesis defense well and luckily I got the highest score among the group with the score of 92%. We made our thesis individually and I have proven to myself that my professor was right, It was just all in my head. I made it.

It might be a quite long process and I hope everyone who is able to read this article will find it useful. It is really difficult in the beginning but once you started it then you'll enjoy it.


Thanks for dropping by and let me know about your thoughts or questions on the comment section.

Peace Out and Take a Leap

Sort:  

This is an awesome artwork, @kennik! Congratulations in getting the highest grade in class for your thesis defense and thank you for sharing your experience. We are including this is SteemPH Davao Daily Featured Post for May 15. Keep up the awesome job and please continue to use steemph tag so we can find your future posts. =D

thanks. will surely do

Nice post! I like this list of useful services. Actually, formulating a problem statement isn't the problem of the researches only. There is a huge clarifying effect a clear problem statement can have on a business. That's why I liked this article that teaches how to upgrade any project with the problem statement techniques https://tagsoft.co/problem-statement-examples-in-business/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68