Japanese Rice Cake the deadly dessert ๐Ÿ˜ฒ

in #philippines โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

๐ŸŒŸ Mochi ๐ŸŒŸ
(Japanese: ้ค…, ใ‚‚ใก) is Japanese rice cake made of glutinous rice. In Japan, it is traditionally made in a ceremony called mochitsuki.

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

On New Year's Day, January 1st, 2018, I got invited into a traditional Japanese mochi pounding event here in Cebu, Philippines. The event was held in a Japanese restaurant called Matsunoya Japanese Restaurant.

image

I was together with two Japanese students from Okinawa.

๐ŸŒŸ Okinawa Man in slippers.
image

๐ŸŒŸ Okinawa Man in shoes.
image

The event happened during 1 PM, 3 PM, and 5 PM. We choose the 5 PM, thinking it would be delectable to have some Mochi or Rice Cakes for desserts.

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

The weather got unexpected and made a little drizzle towards our head. The sun went down, the clouds are gloomy but that didn't stop the Japanese from making the event successful.

image

Don't you just love Japanese people. Their dedication is AH-MA-ZING! (*ยดโˆ€๏ฝ€)

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

Here I took videos of us!!! (3) Pounding the Mochi into a smoother shape. (ใ†ฯ‰ใ†*)

๐ŸŒŸThe girl, of course, is me. [I know, I'm so weak ๐Ÿ˜ง but still want to try and feel how to hold a hammer and pound a Rice Cake]

๐ŸŒŸ This Okinawa Japanese man is IppieKunn, whom I've been hanging a lot since he graduated from his English Academy. [He is jolly and outgoing ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘]

๐ŸŒŸ And this is Kento san, another Japanese student from Okinawa!! [ Very calm and reserved ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ™‚ ]

Of course, all the people who wanted to try were given an opportunity pound and make Mochis.

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

I am happy to say that I kinda made this cute little mochi (heh heh heh) ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜˜

image

Its covered in powdered soybean, I'm not quite sure. But it was sweet and chewy. ๐Ÿ™‚

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

So after taking pictures and saying "ITADAKIMAS~" ใ„ใŸใ ใใพใ™ใ€‚I took the whole piece and eat it directly like it was sushi ( Sushis are eaten in one bite).

Ignorant as I was after a few chews I swallowed it and the deadly rice cake got stuck in my throat. (OMG! ABOUT TO DIE BECAUSE OF AN DESSERT)๐Ÿ˜ซ

Luckily there was a UMESHU (Japanese Plum Wine). I took a BIG GULP and wash down my death to my tummy. (Phew! Alive ๐Ÿค“) โ€ขฬ€.ฬซโ€ขฬโœง

Then my Japanese friend told me that I should eat it slowly because cute little evil Mochis killed a lot of Japanese people. Usually the very young and very old ones. Wait does that mean I'm old? ๐Ÿ˜ซ

But, the dessert was so good that I ate 4 more ๐Ÿ˜.

My favorite is the Shoyo Mochi. It's dip in soy sauce and sugar. IT SOOO GOOOD!! ๐Ÿ˜ NOM NOM NOMใ€‚

image

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

So when eating cute little Mochis do be careful they look cute and innocent but there are deadly. (ใ‚œoใ‚œ)

image

Pound that Mochi!! ๐Ÿ˜

Neko Chan the mini-tour guide ๐ŸŒŸ๐Ÿ™‚

Sort: ย 

Nice photograph ๐Ÿ‘.. You can also check out my post on @alaoabdulhaleem ..i hope you will enjoy them and please do upvote them thank you ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

thank you. i will. (ห˜๏ธถห˜).๏ฝก.:*โ™ก

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50