BreastFeeding: The Commitment from a SuperMom

in #philippines6 years ago

When a woman learns that she is having a baby, it will always be mixed emotions. But definitely, on top of the riot of what she feels, it's still happiness.

Looking back, of going through my pregnancy, it was a month over month of expectation with the changes, and how the baby is growing. But planning things as he comes out, also is the idea of feeding your baby.

Will I be able to sustain? Can I really do it? Will it ever be enough? What if I go back to work?

How I do with breastfeeding my little one, is all about commitment and my unconditional love for my child. And my drive to keep him nourished, and healthy above all else.

I love reading. And I started reading about breastfeeding since the moment I knew I was pregnant. Videos and articles have been a great help, with advises from other moms about how you could improve on breastfeeding. And Ladies, believe me. It is like you got another job on top of the other but it is all worth it.

When our baby boy was born, I did not instantly have my breastmilk. But may little boy and I have been patiently and persistently working on his latching every 2 hours. The very first breastmilk he was able to take was when we already got home, 24 hours from the time he was born.

My partner obligingly took a big part during my challenge in breastfeeding. He reminds me of the feeding intervals. There were few sleeps at night, pain of breasts being full that you cannot go anywhere but home, feels like you got a time bomb on your chest. But with all the challenges, up to this time I am still able to provide for my baby, and it's an unlocked achievement for me, for us. Despite, that I am already working.

Maintaining my milk supply, is also kept in mind. I want my baby breastfed as much as 2 years. Well, that's the plan. I hope it materialize based on the ideology i laid. And I am happy my company is taking part on this journey, that we have a lactation room and extra time to store milk.

received_10156194277263982.jpeg

received_10156194275313982.jpeg

We even have our own storage exclusively for all the milking moms.

received_10156194268463982.jpeg

And here are some of the milk I worked hard for my little baby good boy

received_10156194265403982.jpeg

20180106_060633.jpg

One of the marvelous benefits of breastfeeding is the bond it creates between the mother and the baby. It's just really amazing how strong the connection is between the two of you until he is out of your belly.

How I maintain the supply? Read read read to gain more knowledge.

But basically, drink lots of liquid, eat healthy, and frequently have your little one latch.

I also joined support groups for breastfeeding in the Philippines, where you will be surprised to find practitioners, lactation experts, doctors, and really really experienced breastfeeding mothers. They were a big help. So if you would like to learn more you can easily search the group.

It is also a great experience and very encouraging to see other moms like me in the mall's breastfeeding station. It was fun sharing stories with them, but the sad part is that, some also experienced being discriminated in public due to breastfeeding, which I have not felt, I hope not to. The community need to accept the fact that feeding the child is not bad.

I hope other moms, will never feel discouraged in breastfeeding their child, it might take a lot of your time and effort, but it is definitely a selfless act to provide that to your little one.

Reality, aside from it being free, we all know it is very healthy.

Breastfeeding is a commitment - a commitment to the love for your child. So, latch on little one. Mommy, got this for you.

And for all breastfeeding moms out there, you are all doing wonderful!!!!!

Keep reading and Steem on!

Sort:  

Hi,

Your post was featured in SteemPH Manila Weekly Undervalued Posts Week #1. You also got 100% upvotes from @steemitph and @steemph.manila.

Thank you for procuding awesome contents. Steem On!

Regards,

Your friends in @steemph.manila

Thank you @steemph.manila for your support and for noticing my article. This makes me feel excited in sharing more in our community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73