Complete Dentures

in #philippines6 years ago

1,2,3 smile 😬

Most of us gain confidence when we have beautiful teeth. That's why most people seek the services of a dentist. Sad to say, some people, who are less fortunate, do not have the ability to spend and make their dental health a priority. For them, it is better to spend money to buy food than to have their teeth restored. That is why some people in our country have poor oral health.

Back in my college years in dental school, we were required to make four complete denture cases . The photo above is my second CD case. My patient was on old farmer from the province of Benguet, and his children were the ones who volunteered their father for the procedure. When i first met him, i instantly felt sad, because he was old, he looked so tired, he had white hair, his skin was wrinkly and he didn't have any teeth remaining. He thanked me immediately even without me doing anything yet. He said that he was excited because it would be his first time to have dentures. And we are both lucky to have met each other. I needed a patient and he needed the dentures. Win win 🙂

Everytime he would come for an appointment, he would pray for me first Beside the windows of our school. Then he would tell me that he is lucky to have a beautiful dentist. 😍 Not all patients are as appreciative as he is. Even if it was hard for me to perfect his dentures because he was a first timer, i was happy to have him as my patient.

By the time i finished his dentures, the old man, who was a farmer, gave me a letter. He said that he asked his grandchild to write it for him because he didn't know how to write and read. It was written in a grade 1 pad paper. His letter said that he is thankful to God for me, and that i am a blessing to him. He said that he would always pray for me. For the last time we prayed together. He said , "ang gwapo gwapo ko na". He smiled and i saw sincere happiness in his eyes.

It was a fulfilling experience. 😷

IMG_3410.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67066.21
ETH 3093.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75