Have you ever thought what people will say about you at your funeral?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Funerals get me thinking~

This beautiful tree symbolises the magnificence of life. The photograph was taken at Roy’s funeral yesterday.

Whenever I hear a tribute being given at a funeral as I did today, I end up wondering about my eulogy. For instance, would my nearest and dearest be saying wonderful things about me? Would they be speaking from the heart about my virtues, my achievements and whether I was a good mother, wife, sister, friend etc? Maybe I might hear them laughing about my Angieisms, a title placed on me by a couple sisters. Let me explain, I tend to be a tad impulsive at times and do funny things.

Like at Christmas time I decided to put a layer of coconut yoghurt in a dairy free ice-cream cassata. I did not know that when yoghurt freezes it sets like a rock. Cutting the casatta was not happening! The family are still laughing! Or the time I impulsively thought I could drive up over the curb in a front wheel sedan car - of course I got stuck! That one is still talked about in the family. There are some things I cannot live down!

But on a serious note, when I think of my eulogy, it gives me a nudge that life is short. There is only a short time to do good, to lend a hand and to treat others the way I would like them to treat me. As little as being patient and acting/speaking nicely at all times is one way to do this.


Cheers
Angie

Thanks for reading and for your support. It is appreciated. Please upvote and resteem.


Sort:  

this is my favourite part of this article,

life is short. There is only a short time to do good, to lend a hand and to treat others the way I would like them to treat me. As little as being patient and acting/speaking nicely at all times is one way to do this.

people should learn that life is the sweetest thing we shall ever have.
life is a one time token than we should chelish.
you are absolutely right about people helping those in need because life is for rent and that means everything we have is temporary.
thank you so much for reminding me of the value of life.
I have resteemed to let everyone out there receive this message.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes definitely

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Actually, I have. But I can honestly say that it doesn't matter to me that much. All that matters to me is what the boss says when I get up there.

So right - makes a lot sense @mepatriot.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Regardless of what people will say about you then, you won't be there to hear their statements. But you can know what your eulogy will be by the type of life you live. What are they saying about you now? If what they are saying about you now is bad, when you're gone they would say worse. So just try to put smile on you fellow man face if you can because that's all that matters.

I have instructed my friends to tell the truth, don't sugar coat anything, they can say my good things but without ignoring the bad, we are all humans and I would like to be remembered as the human I was.

The only way to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66