Unfinished Stuff

in #philosophy5 years ago

This may not be a good photo of my unfinished bust, but that's probably a good thing for me; it helps to hide all the frustrating mistakes I've made to the piece since starting it...

Another problem I've had with this gypsum build up/carve down sculpture, is that I keep changing the concept of it in my mind...

When I first began the piece, the vision I had inside my skull, was that of an ancient warrior of sorts...then Hercules...until someone thought that it was a bust of Christ.

An ex-brother-in-law thought that I was sculpting a self-portrait, which further confused me.

So, at this point...I don't know what the hell I've been working on; maybe that's why it has gone unfinished for a very longggggggggg time.

I have quite a few things around me that remain unfinished which at this point in my life, bothers me less and less as time moves along; I don't know why...? Perhaps they are things that have become less important?

Most of you can probably relate to lingering unfinished stuff that clutters your brain when thinking about it. Feeling guilty about our unfinished projects and the like seems to be a very common response internally...more so, when someone comes along to remind you with words such as,

"HEY...when the hell are you ever going to finish that...?!?!?!?"

Which elicits a response like, "UHHhhhhhh...I don't know...Someday, I guess...?"


The picture on your left, is me in one of my typical postures at home, or out and about...pondering something...

I'm always pondering...

Sometimes I wonder if I think about stuff, more than I actually do stuff...??? Or, do more than I think I do, when I'm wondering what I have done...should have done or not, and stuff like that.

It can be quite confusing.

Well, my friends...That's about it for now...I have to stop and think about this for awhile, now that I reminded myself about unfinished stuff in my life, and whether they're worth finishing or not...???

How do we know the value of finishing something, until after we've finished it?

What if...what we were working on, and finally finished turns out to be valueless...???

Wouldn't that have been a waste of valuable time?

I mean...Life is short in a way...Why waste precious time on starting and completing wasteful stuff?

If only we knew ahead of time what is/was a waste, before we began...

What a more fruitful life we'd all have...Eh?

I'm outta here; see ya when I see ya.

Ciao


Another Philosophical Masterpiece from the Mind of @AngryMan on Steemit, August 9,2019

Sort:  

What if...what we were working on, and finally finished turns out to be valueless...???
Wouldn't that have been a waste of valuable time?

Perhaps the time spent working on something was not valuable time, but just some extra free time you had. Is there any value in free?

Is there any value in free?

If it's food there is :>)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

We may never know the value of the final product, but at least we can value the experience.
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

I can't say I have any unfinished projects cluttering my brain. I think that's more of a male thing;) Like most ladies, I tend to finish what I start.

Then perhaps I'll have one of them sex change operations so that I can finally finish stuff...or...not start anything ever again...???

Christ, it's Hercules I pondered... :0)

May thy mighty Zeus smile upon thee and thine, forever and a day...

I thought about a reply.

Posted using Partiko Android

:>) Keep thinking...

Oddly enough my lingering thought is how artistic it would be to stone this bust to life... some shards of jagged rock protruding from his head seems enticing.. Strange, yes I know..

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny, but...I had a passing vision of smashing it with a sledgehammer...??? THEN...there appeared your comment in a similar vein of thought.

Hmmmmmmmnnnnnnn....What manner of inhumanity floods thy innards????

Haha! Good I'm glad I wasn't crossing a line with my destructive impulses...

The human psyche can be peculiar...

It's a nice bust and I'd never intend it actual harm..

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad I wasn't crossing a line with my destructive impulses...

:>) NOT by any means my friend...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66