You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LaPlace's Demon, Determinism and our Free Will - a few thoughts

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

I am inclined towards a system of divine determinism and that man lacks the power of contrary choice. We will always choose that which we desire based on a combination of materialistic factors such as the configuration of information in our minds, physiological state and numerous other factors.

However, I do not preclude a supernatural component. Particularly, the God of Scriptures. It says specifically that He declares the end from the beginning. This and many other verses suggests a predetermination of events which rules out the free-will notion of many evangelicals.

The God of the Bible is not irrational but rather logical. In Roman's, there is described a chain of events regarding salvation.

For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be
the firstborn among many brethren;30 and these whom He predestined, He also called; and these whom He called, He also justified; and these whom He justified, He also glorified.

Romans 8:29-30 NASB

It flushes perfectly how we thing in terms of cause and effect. There is a process in God redeeming a person He has chosen before the foundation of time.

There may be a little theological debate about the precise order of operations but the important thing is free-will doesn't fit anywhere in the puzzle.

If I am predestined, I will make the choice necessarily because the events in the universe, things seen and unseen, would be arranged and ordered that such a choice would inevitably be made. I could not have done otherwise.

I would not call myself a Calvinists but there is a component of their acrostic TULIP that explains this. It's the 'I' and stands for "Irresistable Grace". I chose Him because He first chose me. I could not resist.

That's a sovereign God. Not wimpy Jesus sitting around just hoping you will accept his invitation. Anyways, kind of went on a tangent but I blame you. 😛

Sort:  

I am guilty in the sense of the impeachment 🙃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91