Are There Different Levels Of Abstraction?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Well there is one representation of different levels of abstraction which are measured in 'Cuils'.
Today I present to you, The Cuil Theory!



What is it?

So basically, it's the measurable concept of abstraction required to deign the reality of a situation from the perceived reality, and the idea that what we experience is directly influenced by the fact that we're interpreting what we perceived happened and not what actually happened, which can render any situation completely obscure and we can't be sure what we experience is what's going on.

In the words of Immanuel Kant "we can never really know what's happening in the world as it truly exists except that it has a role in shaping the world that we experience."

As an example, a 2-Cuil abstraction occurs when the world as it truly is informs a world of experience in conjunction with one set of consciousness constraints, and that the world of experience would then inform a second world of experience in combination with a second set of consciousness constraints.

Not much is known in this field as it's a very tough concept to study, due to the nature of reading someone else's work for study adding another level of Cuil abstraction detracting from the objectivity of your study.

This leads to an even bigger question, is what you're learning what you're learning or are you merely perceiving it as what you're learning just by wanting to learn, and experiencing the action of doing so?

If you are struggling to understand; check out this video:


Futher Explanation


Cuil abstraction, is a logarithmic interpretation of how far one can go from being on topic while still being on topic. (to paraphrase in easier terms)

1 Cuil: A racoon is not a hamburger, but everything else is the same otherwise. That was the only divergence. (+1 Cuil)
2 Cuil: you asked a non-existent person for a hamburger (+1 Cuil), instead receiving a non-hamburger representation of a hamburger (+1 Cuil)
3 Cuil: I was never there, presumably a dream (+1 cuil). You were never a human being (+1 Cuil). You asked for yourself for consumption (+1 cuil). The world being sepia solidifies the first point. Special sauce flying from your lips solidifies the second two points.
4 Cuil: german (+0.5), mime holding pre-hamburger(+1), instantaneous hamburger assembly via close relative (+1), your eyes become pickles (+0.5), your song creates the universe and thus this whole situation (+1)

And so on. It's a game of observance obscurity.

If you experience something, and you interpret it as one of the mentioned levels, then you are N-Cuil abstractions from the objective reality of the situation as a given. The thing is, we can't really measure without knowing what's real, and what isn't real. And the only way to tell is the measure, which adds more Cuil obscurity.

It's a paradox to attempt to measure Cuils, so we instead go into a situation knowing what we experience could be 0-Cuil abstractions deep, and we're actually seeing what's going on, or 6-Cuil abstractions and we'd never know.

Thank You to the people who put a smile on my face and keeping me going on steemit!


A huge shout out to @hilarski, @dreemit, @seablue, @stellabelle, @kevinwong, @thecryptofiend for their constant support with my blogs (sorry if I missed you out, it is nearing midnight and I'm really tired after a labourious day from work. ) and I recommend you check out all of them as you all have exceptional content, although you probably already follow them.

You may wonder why I am doing a shout out despite the fact I don't usually do this...
Well, today I've had a great day on steem and I've learned to be more grateful for the amazing opportunities I've been given on this platform as well as the astonishing people I have met and I can't express my gratitude and love to all you guys.

Thank You for Reading!

Sort:  

Cuil Theory is complete brilliance, especially when meditating upon it for long period of time (perceived time). I love to live in the fringe realms as it keeps my sense of whatis in an ever changing double helix of possibility. It all started for me when I first read Hesse's 'Steppenwolf' when I was six. ;)

Great post that I feel the need to share on my page (resteem). Thank you.

I think the Cuil Theory is good to think about as well as it is a great theory to ponder about and exercise your mind thinking of all the possible existential ideas that many of us do not see on a day to day basis.
There are so many layers of meaning to something so bland and vain.

Thank you for the resteem <3

Your post is very interesting to follow, amazing.
Thank you for sharing, success always for you, best regards from me.

Thank you for your kind words.
Highly appreciated.

I want a hamburger :P
I had no idea about cuild abstraction thanks for introducing me to the concept

No Problem, next time you have hamburger, think it could be something more than that.

Fascinating stuff! It's my time seeing your work and really enjoy this post.
One of the greatest things of value I get from studying Neuro-Linguistic Programming is the effect that controlling levels of specificity and abstraction have on coloring and shaping the human experience.
Going to have to ponder this theory for a bit and see how to integrate it. :)
Thanks again and keep up the great work!

You are welcome, sir. I see a bright future for your content on Steemit.

Not much is known in this field as it's a very tough concept to study, due to the nature of reading someone else's work for study adding another level of Cuil abstraction detracting from the objectivity of your study.

This leads to an even bigger question, is what you're learning what you're learning or are you merely perceiving it as what you're learning just by wanting to learn, and experiencing the action of doing so?

Not sure if srs?

What cannot be measured is not real?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67