You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Certainty beyond the first encounter?

in #philosophy5 years ago

Really enjoyed this and share your sentiments on planning, even though I have been known to make a hasty decision or two. In the Army, we had a saying ”Always prepared, never ready!” it was kind on a sarcastic response to all of those troop mottos ”Fist in, last out.”, ”Follow Me”, etc. We thought it was so funny but there is actually wisdom to it and I think it's basically the same meaning as your contact with the enemy.

One more quote. My squadron commander heard someone complaining in a unit ruck march, so after the march, he called everyone together and said: ”Ya get punched in the face, take a knee, drink some water, and drive on!” 😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Such a valuable ethos I think...Maybe not for everyone, but for me and my wife it has been. I really like that phrase your squad commander said too! Wise words. Too many people just give in or flair along aimlessly. Just isn't my style.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49