You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do two wrongs ever make a right? (with $1SBD Bounty)

in #philosophy6 years ago

I don't know... I would hesitate to say that in the most general case, two wrongs don't make a right... In trivial examples (like your reading), it doesn't really matter one way or the other... there is no real consequences attached to either wrong. However, in real life, nothing is consequence free (mostly!), and so I would suggest that "fixing" a wrong would further impact on someone else that had no original stake in the original wrong?

I'm racing to write this in the interval of a concert, so I hope that made some sense!

Sort:  

It did, but it opens its own can of worms!

it doesn't really matter one way or the other... there is no real consequences attached to either wrong.

So are you saying that the morality of an action is dependent on the consequences? This opens the door to a whole new layer (or a new week?!) of discussion. If this week’s question was “do two wrongs ever make a right?” your answer was basically “the ends justify the means” if I’m interpreting it correctly 😛

No, I'm not sure I would say that. Every action has a balance of both good and bad consequences (also depends on who is doing the judging of morality), so it is near impossible (for most non trivial cases) to balance the two in an absolute way that everyone could agree on.

I would say the new action to fix the original wrong should be based on it's own merits, not just in the light of fixing the original problem. I guess that would be hinting at appropriate response in respect to systems of justice vs vengeance or retribution?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87