You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knowledge is Power (17) - How useful are the ancient moral sources to our current moral issues?

in #philosophy5 years ago

I personally think it is dangerous to rely on ancient writings as anything more than a guide. Mis-translations and the tyranny of time (viewing situations and language even) mean that we are viewing everything through a distorted lens which can lead us down the path of searching for confirmation. I see this all too often in the field of music that I work in, where we use historical resources to inform and break the shackles of centuries of tradition (resulting in misinterpretation of music from earlier centuries).

However, as to your question about women's rights to abortion. I think it should be legal and it is up to the woman to decide. If they have a moral objection, then they should not use the service, however, the suppression of choice by restriction of criminalising the service is (to me) a much less good alternative.

Sort:  

Definitely! I agree with you 💯. However, this post is only about history. I just wanted to show some ancient philosophers’ views about women’s rights. No interpretation. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83