Integrity Inflation - Do You Produce More Words, Than Actions, To Back Them Up?

in #philosophy5 years ago


Yo yo my Steemies, Wattup?

Let's talk about your value, as a person.

Do others measure you, by your words, your excuses, or your actions?

Do these consequences, go deeper than you realise?

In this vlog, I share my views on this.

As always, please let me know, your thoughts, in the comments below, or as a video, and link it, in the comments below.

Think, Believe, Achieve.

Peace.

Music track - Echoes, from Adobe Premiere Clip.

TA Banner Slim Bobaphet.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hola Bob, en mi experiencia como profesor de una institutoción educativa entiendo que soy ejemplo para mis estudiantes y aún más para mi sociedad. Por ello a veces aunque tenga mi autoestima baja por las situaciones de la vida alzo la frente y miro con esperanza hacia el futuro dandome el puesto y el valor que merezco ... un abrazo desde Venezuela yoyo ...

Gracias amigo. Como mentor para los jovenes, siempre estaras en el centro de atencion tambien. Tus acciones seran un ejemplo para ellos.
Paz.

Posted using Partiko Android

Many times the excuses fill my words, but how good is to find people who remember you and advise you like you, thank you very much.

We all need to be reminded of the simple things. Society is so fast paced.
It's a wealth of mine, that I have great friends, who do so 🙏
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great video. I recently said to a friend I’m not going to say we should catch up more because it doesn’t happen . It’s not that I don’t want to it’s just I know we are both busy and it just won’t happen. I used to say it all the time but I think of myself as a doer not a gonna and it annoys me when I have to back down on my word. 99% of the time if I say it will happen it will happen, the 1% is normally when I bite off more then I can chew. This attitude has helped me grow and become a desired worker in my industry . My we all do what we say and grow together. Have an awesome day my friend.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Written with the true convicion, of one who walks the talk 😀
Pease.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m a nightmare sometimes, not because I don’t do what I say, I have a terrible memory, most of the time everything I say gets done, not always to schedule. Forgetfulness + constantly being busy means a funny timeline of life 😂😂

That being said I don’t say anything that I wouldn’t actually do, otherwise like you said you only expose yourself as a fake, not just to other others but also to yourself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, over commitment is a slippery slope. If I am uncertain if I can fill an obligation, I would rather just say no, rhan say yes, and fall short.
Maybe, is a word qe should eliminate from our vocabulary.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I think human nature sometimes makes us say yes to avoid feeling like we are disappointing someone, when really it’s more like the opposite.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's why I stopped smoking and don't have friends :D
You mention self esteem, prolonged struggle and starvation can really make people ask for things they wouldn't have asked normally ("can i have a lift home"), out of despair.
That's why it just safe not ask very little to anyone, and don't mention your projects, people tend to have the worst intentions, no one is genuinely happy about your new job promotion, or your new project...

Some people sre genuinely happy for your wins. These are true friends and should be cherished 😍
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed your video. Saying "No" is where I'm at with a neighbor that knocks all the time (at bad times like late at night) asking to use our power, use our phone, need jumper cables, and god knows whats next. I just started saying no to everything so they learn not to ask anymore. I'm all for helping people out but we just moved here so obviously they have burnt bridges with the other neighbors and also they did not welcome us to the neighbor hood or introduce themselves until they needed something. Said they would give us some money for our power bill for using our power then never offers later (we would not have taken it). Now a days I'm more aware of integrity, I'm not perfect but I try not to be a bother to others. Take care.

Sometimes it can be hard to say no, just remember though, it's your reputation on the line. As @hippywithagun says, do no harm, but stand your ground.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

reminded me of this quote a bit:

Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can't help them, at least don't hurt them.

-Dalai Lama

I like the added stand your ground because sometimes people asking for help are doing harm. Seems knowing when to help is the challenge for me.

Cheers.

Thank you for this video, it led me to such thoughts:
I try always do what I told others. But I don't always do the same with the promises I made to myself. I can put them off or forget them.
And it's sad, because I'm in my life - the most important person on whom I can really influence and who can help.

Yes, a very good point there. We must look after ourselves. A sinking ship, can not tow another ship.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great video @bobaphet and good examples mate!

I agree with you in every single point.

We need to be able to reflect and to say "no" if we can not assure the following action.

  • It is really common that people these days want to do every possible "cool thing" and say "yes" without evaluating if they can execute and handle it. That is why a burnout becomes pre-programed and why a lot of projects are not working well or get canceled.
  • To say "no" is essential for the quality of current projects.
    (Me personal - I think I have enought projects running right now^^)

Ideas are shit - executions are the game

[Gary Vee]

Thanks for sharing mate

Thank you for sharing @bobaphet , this is a beautiful motivation for introspection, I learned from it ...

Thank you. Glad you were able to understand this one 🙏
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @bobaphet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87