You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two Types of Happiness: Hedonistic and Eudaimonic Happiness

Seeking happiness is good.
I do not consider hedonistic pleasures to be happiness.
Sure, they are enjoyable in the moment, but most of them have long term negative consequences that actually lower your levels of happiness.

And, where most people go wrong in positive thinking is like
putting a smiley face sticker over the gas gauge.

Thinking good thoughts of getting more fuel by some means is good.
Ignoring that you are running out of fuel is self destructive.

Sort:  

I have indeed been guilty of living a hedonistic lifestyle, I must confess. ( to the very max, truth be told)

...an interesting philosophical question...and one I have asked myself many times...

Perpetual hedonism ( with a concept of no after life), means you die happy?
(I'm not being trite, it is a serious question)

I see it differently - I have lived a life of total hedonism - BUT I am aware it is not positive for society as whole - I accept this. ( I also have no parental gene either, and I accept this also).

I see western christian moral values as the best code for a successful, happy society ( irrelevant of religious beliefs - but in the right way of doing things.) This leaves space for the 'oddities' in society - like me, but also ostracization -for really negative elements..)

Followed, btw - so rude of me not to do so before!- I do apologize ....profusely !

You don't need a concept of an after life to not engage in hedonism. It's irrelevant.

I agree with certain moral guidelines from Christianity, more specifically the symbolism of the Christ character/figure. The way and path is through that symbolism, of truth, morality, love, righteousness. Thanks for the feedback.

Seeking happiness is good.

How so?

The pursuit of life isn't about being happy. Being happy is part of life, it comes with life, just like being sad. In our avoidance of being sad, in avoidance of the negative, we instead put happiness as a pursuit when it's rather just another part of life to experience, not something that should be the most important as something to seek out and strive for. That doesn't imply the polar opposite is the automatic fallback position, of being negative or unhappy, or sad, etc. It only implies a balance towards a neutral place of contentment without excitation of our emotions towards positive states as a primary goal in life.

The better word is joy.
Seeking joy is the greatest thing you can do in this life. All other things will fall in place along this path.

I didn't say be happy (or be sad) I said seek joy. Trying to be happy, as you say, is putting the cart before the horse. Trying to force things, that can't be forced.

There is no neutral place.
There is more sadness and despair than we can imagine. And there is more joy and happiness than we can imagine. Even trying to discuss such things leads to phrases like: "having good sex, times ten, all the time. And that is just saying, hello"

As we bring more joy into the world, more joy is possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68035.11
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63