Philosophy for Geeks, part 2

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

August 3, 2019. If we don’t evolve, life is bleak. In this, part 2 of my Philosophy for Geeks, you will note that the “old” me, from the early 2000s, had a great need to do just that, evolve. Whether the current me has succeeded in moving forward a step or two, I cannot say. But let me comment that some of what is written below makes me cringe.

Prejudice is the only non-discriminatory discrimination. [Where does it say I have to make sense.]

The effortless dance of frictionless thought.

Some orgasms are no more momentous than the release of air from an over-inflated tire.

Driving is magic made mundane. What else can you call it? At very little expense of time or energy, we are effortlessly and rapidly transported great distances.

My theory of sociopaths is that they manipulate and control (thereby creating routine) because they crave two things: normalcy and the opportunity for normalcy. You see, a sociopath can better imitate real life if he or she is able to repeat the same situation over and over, inserting the imitations of emotions that have been observed; this “rehearsal” is an opportunity to be normal.

People never change. And yet, they do. We do. Going back two thousand years, you will find greed, betrayal, lust, anger, and violence. About what you would expect. But it seems to me that our internal-values checklist has changed. Changed from a positive to a negative. Even as recently as 40 years ago, I think a person’s internal checklist would go something like this:
Will my action result in the greatest good for the greatest number?
Is it moral?
Is it right?
Answer “yes” to all of those questions, and you’re good to go. Today, I think it goes more like this:
Will my contemplated action
Lose me the love and respect of my family and friends?
Lose me my freedom (i.e., land me in jail)?
Lose me my life?
If you can answer “no” to all of these questions, then you are good to go. July 31, 2009 addition: And if you don’t see the difference, that just strengthens my theory.

My girlfriend and my toilet share one annoying trait: neither one likes to swallow.

I am continuously amazed by how phenomenally stupid my prick is.

Without getting too specific, Jenny instructed Fabian to go get the car keys, take the car and fill it with gas at the Texaco just down the road; turn right onto Palm St. when leaving the Texaco and continue until getting to the intersection of Mountain Road and Palm; take Mountain Road for six-and-a-half miles; turn right onto Jenks Lake Road; upon arriving at the outer checkpoint, go ahead and enter Jenks Lake National Park; find a good place to park (not too far from the lake); look for an especially deep, clear area of the lake; back up about ten or fifteen feet so as to have a good running start; start running as fast as possible; and jump the hell in the fucking lake.

In a relationship, curiosity in one can be viewed as a threat by the other. At times curiosity is the first step towards (outside) interest; interest is often the first indication of dissatisfaction.

I can’t sleep, I can’t write, I can’t fuck; I’m either dead or in Peoria.

Our culture has become one in which we are rewarded/complemented for doing only what we must. Authority figures frequently encourage us to do the minimum instead of our best.

Sort:  

Congratulations @chimerasong! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59