Overcoming Self-Limiting Beliefs

in #philosophy5 years ago

image.png


Self limiting beliefs are often subconscious in nature and are ways in which we sabotage ourselves. Examples of this sabotage range from giving up before we try, doubting our own self worth, denying ourselves of our true purpose, and not allowing us to have things we want. In general, no one wants to believe they do these things, but we all do at some point in our lives and most of us probably still are without being aware. I am going to discuss some of the obvious ways we self sabotage through our beliefs and thought process.

The biggest self limiting belief system is allowing our ego mind to dictate what we can and can't do. It's important to retrain our subconscious mind to self fulfilling behaviors so that we can start creating the reality that we want for ourselves. Do you think successful people got to be successful by limiting what they believe they can accomplish? They most certainly did not and neither will any of us. I was stuck in the mindset of telling myself I had to work a traditional job and live the cookie cutter lifestyle that most mainstream individuals embrace. The fact is that I hated myself everyday, lost sight of who I was, had no idea of what I actually wanted, and in the end was actually suicidal over the feeling of helplessness that I allowed to encompass my life.

I have been working to retrain my subconscious mind to stop living in fear and making reactionary decisions. I may not have as much money or some of the other luxuries I enjoyed before, but I value my mental health and personal happiness above those things. I realized that every day that I worked a job I didn't like, wasn't following my life mission, and was putting on a false persona for the world that I was limiting my ability to be what and who I truly wanted. Don't let yourself believe that you have to do something you don't want to do or don't agree with to fund a life you don't want. That is self limiting behavior and perpetuating a system of self destruction. I know that I would have died unhappy and unfulfilled if I didn't start making drastic changes, so I decided that I was done working jobs that I didn't like to make money for people that didn't care about me or helping humanity.

I removed fear from the equation and started reinforcing my own thoughts with positive mantras and self reflection. Any time the thought that I can't or shouldn't do something goes through my mind, I ask myself why I believe that. If the answer doesn't resonate with my core values then I disregard it as self limiting behavior and think of why I should do it. I had to start thinking big picture and stop being scared of consequences that don't really matter. It's important to know exactly what motivates you and what you stand to lose by not embracing your true desires.

I don't care about money or notoriety and I honestly never have. I could keep perpetuating the debt slavery system and working a job that I hate to pay for shit that I don't want or care about, or I can be happy and trust in my own abilities and the universe to provide for me. I have woken up every day since making this change with incredibly reduced amounts of stress and I can actually be happy with myself. We create our reality by the way we think and react to events. Think positive and self reassuring thoughts and do what you are called to do and life will be so much better. Stop telling yourself what you can't do and start embracing your ability to do anything you are truly passionate about.

Namaste.


Sort:  

Human beings have a tendency to shut ourselves in and not be critical of what surrounds us. Sometimes it seems that Freedom and getting out of the comfort zone that we impose on ourselves, whether by prejudice, tradition, upbringing or simply by not having an open mind, is simply something "terrible" that will not take us anywhere better.

And this is a very harmful mentality especially for the times in which we live, a very clear example of this is the rise of the Internet and all that can be done to obtain sources of income.

Happiness and Freedom are extremely important things for the individual. But usually both are sacrificed in favor of the "security" that a "mainstream" life generates, and are also lost for fear of risk and not daring to be pragmatic with the way to face possible new opportunities.

Do you think successful people got to be successful by limiting what they believe they can accomplish?

It is a very good phrase that represents some differences in the mentality of some people and others. Many people choose to do more than they thought they could do and are successful, on the other hand there are people who underestimate themselves and don't even do things they could probably do.

Excellent post friend, Greetings and Peace!

Edit: Oh, by the way... I loved that image, really beautiful!

Thanks for stopping by dude! Hopefully the message helps someone.

Yes, I agree with Julia. You have a talent for this stuff.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Curated for #informationwar (by @thoughts-in-time)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

Congratulations @clayboyn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8250 replies. Your next target is to reach 8500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97