Integrative Philosophy: Introduction

in #philosophy7 years ago

In this introduction, I would like to share my thoughts on what an integrative philosophy is and how it relates to the human condition. I will discuss some possible principles, illustrate some diagrams, share a poem and give an example of my own personal story.

Principles

Some principles of an integrative philosophy may include:

  1. Everything starts with a breath, paying attention to what is at hand, in the heart or on one’s mind; the corner stone will be self-awareness which extends to a deeper identity.
  2. There is a need to have respect for all values, each value needs to be included in an integrative philosophy; communication will be vital and openness will be necessary to understand each other’s views.
  3. The 2 underlying aims are:
    a. Evolution: increase consciousness and conscience, see things more clearly, feel things more deeply and have action follow this awareness and compassion.
    b. Involution: be involved, relate, contribute, play, dance, be the author of your own personal story, live a path with heart.
  4. Different values often clash, frequently in a direction of division; division and integration can be healthy or unhealthy depending on aim - the compass for this philosophy is the underlying aims of evolution and involution.
  5. Different levels of consciousness and aspects of being (physical, emotional, intellectual and spiritual) are found and available within all of us.
  6. Each person has their own unique makeup and we all have different centers of gravity within our being; we frequently find ourselves in multiple groups and multiple roles, each with their own center of gravity.
  7. These ideas themselves exist on different levels and require different details and emphasis based on those levels.

Forms of Expression

In order to communicate any integrative philosophy, one would need to express ideas in many different forms in order to be as inclusive as possible, including descriptions, diagrams, stories, movement, art, music, poetry, and practical exercises.

Diagrams

Below are 2 diagrams that I will explain in more detail, frequently reference and provide examples for in future posts. It is a synthesis of a number of western and eastern philosophy ideas that I have studied and learned from others.

Diagram 2 Aspects of our Being.JPG

Diagram 1 Oppsoites and Levels.JPG

Poem

Here is an example of a poem that I wrote which illustrates an integrative philosophy.

When the Invisible Hand Meets the Warmth of Heart

Farewell to the day when division resides in its extremity,
And when the Earth no longer weeps its patient tears,
Whereby the invisible pocket and slight of hand are brought to light,
And inequality of opportunity and lack of freedom of choice are no more.

Let's welcome the day when both the Earth and Humanity can smile together,
Where we are both agents and recipients of balanced well being,
Where privilege and responsibility align,
And when the invisible hand meets the warmth of heart.

Practical Self Work

Listen more closely to someone whom you are very different from and watch the source of the reaction.

Personal Reflections

Every day, I see a world divided and my contact with colleagues, friends and family feels disconnected, I am in a bubble and others, I believe, are in their own bubbles. We are not in contact, almost like 2 automatons (a sophisticated bundle of habits on automatic pilot) stumbling in the night. My most important relationships are with my family, I need to better connect with my wife and daughters, there are parts of me that needs to grow and be open such that I can better relate to them. Time is precious, why wait?

Aspects of an integrative philosophy have helped me and I am hoping that they may be of use to others and perhaps through sharing, we may grow together.

Banner2.jpg

Sort:  

from the Upanishads - 'If meditation be the spark, then contemplation be the flame' ......................i like your name and ideas so i follow you and upvote - keep well and i hope you may enjoy my original music and painting too -D

Of course I have to follow anyone who quotes from the Upanishads. I listened to your song 'You're not alone', I liked it, I will certainly keep an eye...or ear...on your work and review some past posts.

many thanks - i really appreciate your checking my song and this connection with a philosophical type of person here.

To answer from your comment on my post.

I would say yes, 3b does have a connection to some of my posts. I aim to explore myself through my writing and perhaps help others explore themselves too.

This was a good post. Thanks. I don't have much but I will upvote it.

Thanks. Are you OK if I reference some of your posts from time to time? My view is if another author expresses something clearly and genuinely, I would rather reference them rather than write a redundant article. No worries on up vote value, I am more interested in bringing people and ideas together. I am tired of the doom and gloom view these days and would like to provide ideas and practical solutions for tomorrow's world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66671.81
ETH 3087.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68