The Button

in #philosophy8 years ago

Suppose there is a button, and if you press it the Government will be gone. Would you press the button?
It's such an obvious answer and it's such a simple thing to do. So why wouldn't you want to press it?
We would have prosperity, right?

So how does pressing a button end the Government? Does it suddenly murder every Statist, or launch them to the Mars? Just how did one get in such a situation to even make this possible. Is there any guarantee that it will work? Will it last and how will I be held responsible?

The more one thinks about the details in the question, the more improbable it becomes to create a realistic scenario.

To me the question resembles voting, it's such a simple thing to do for promises of a utopia. The details of how it will work are never clearly explained and you will do it anonymously.
A fantasy for change.

Perhaps you could call me paranoid but I don't know if I would press the button.
I think creating a stateless society would require a bit more effort for a real change to occur.

Sort:  

Wouldn't pressing the button be violating the nap for those that want to be governed? I would like to think that I know what's best for people, but the use of force to make everyone change with me... that's beyond my desire. Good question to put my thoughts into perspective though. Thank you.

A NAP self defense case could be argued for pressing the button. It is removing a government that is already using aggression.

I thought about that as well, but I also thought about how society taking place in their government would have their choice of being free or a ward taken away. You are not truly free until you have the freedom to also make bad decisions, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56