Sort:  

also, an eye can see itself, just use the mirror

An eye isn't seeing itself, it is seeing it's opposite, and that is assuming that the mirror is perfectly clear without any distortions.

EXAMPLE:

  • Look in a mirror and raise your right hand, and you'll see that your reflection raises its left hand.

A reflection is helpful but if you thought that you were the actual reflection and forgot that you existed outside of the reflection, you'd be in big trouble!

Yes but the point is that without using some other tool the eye can never see itself just like you cannot look directly at a floater in your eye it will get away from your focus

I have also heard the phrase, "an eye cannot see itself".

now it sounds funny, lol

An eye can see a reflection of itself, a mirror image of itself, the opposite of itself and God consciousness can also see a reflection of itself.

This is done by seeing everything that you are not (i.e. I am not my name, I am not my body, I am not my thoughts about myself, etc.).

Everything you can see, perceive and experience is a reflection of you but it isn't the real you - it's the opposite of everything you are.

I hope I could truly understand those words one day

You can understand it in no time @darrenych86. The words make it look a lot more complicated than it really is.

An "eye" can not see itself and neither can an "I".

  • Say the word "I" a few times and try to figure out what you are referring to.

You might think you are referring to a thought or idea about yourself, but you are not a thought or idea.

Yes this is a great process of realization. You come to find that the stream of thoughts you have commenting on the first stream you may perceive to be "I" is simply just another set of thoughts. The feelings about feelings were just more feelings. So on and so forth.

Yes that is also another saying to go along with it

I really enjoy your posts @scottcbusiness thanks for being a part of Steemit 😊

Thanks for your encouragement :) Glad you enjoy them!

Yes very insightful indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.84
ETH 3310.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92