The People That Should Be Your Role Models

in #philosophy7 years ago

IMG_0109.PNG

The ancient athenians had the same problems we now face today. Idol worshipping celebrities and athletes and rich people.

Plato argued it makes flawed characters look glamorous. That people would dismiss their bad qualities to focus on their status thus making their bad qualities acceptable.

He argues that it wasn't status that should have been the focus but rather wisdom, experience, honor and other similar values. That we should make those people the ones we aspire to be and role models for society..

Sort:  

Yes I think a lot of things haven't changed over time even thought we might like to believe it. Humans have always done this.

Thank you for a great post :)
I actually believe most of the people looking up for an Idol because he has something they want. If anyone Idolise someone with a status that's only because he wants status, and there's nothing wrong with that!
I will share with you one of my idols, Tonny Robbins.

Please check my new post, I think you will like it!
@paps

I think its a survival trait. Who ever tells the best stories gets the attention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69865.26
ETH 3687.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25