You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Carrying myself together

in #philosophy6 years ago

In a sense, Steemit offers an interesting glimpse into the nature of humanity. Like you, I see my contributions here through the lens of "doing my part" to help support the price of Steem in the long run. My choices are informed by a subtle sense of "will this next action likely support the ultimate goal of (let's say) having $50 Steem in 2025?"

The "interesting" part is just how many people are only focused on "can I withdraw 50 cents tomorrow?" and their actions are informed only by this moment-to-moment thinking. I find that kind of complete lack of thinking ahead rather mystifying... and yet, there it is. It makes me ponder whether it is simply fueled by a particular type of user that seems attracted to Steemit; the same kind of user who thinks HYIP's are "a good way to make money:" You get in, do something to gather as much cash as you can for 3 weeks, the system crashes; you move on to the next "program."

Beats me. Just don't know. Just know that I personally don't work on that metric. For me, the single most annoying thing on the web tends to be when a content site I invested time and effort in shuts down. So I work towards preventing that.

Most people? They just don't give a $hit...

Sort:  

My choices are informed by a subtle sense of "will this next action likely support the ultimate goal of (let's say) having $50 Steem in 2025?"

t is interesting to think so far into the future and most aren't really capable. It is hard for many to really imagine what 50 dollar Steem means and what it takes to get there and, what it takes to take advantage of the opportunity. Crypto seems to attract people who don't have long term vision although they are surrounded by evidence that longterm pays off much higher than short.

Just know that I personally don't work on that metric.

I think it comes down to experience and a sense of self actualization. The value is one thing, the vision another.

Most people? They just don't give a $hit...

Some will make it to be wealthy, most won't ever leave whatever suburb they are currently in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73