You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Death and Mushrooms: analyzing the psychology of a magic mushroom experience

in #philosophy5 years ago

A truly interesting text and approach that you present here. Beautifully written and the unpretentious thing about it is so warming. Unfortunately, I have no fresh memories of Psylocybin and don't know how to name the dose I took at the time. It was, I think, quite little and possible that therefore our experiences differ.

What I see in common is the intensified view of things, a glow and an intensity in the colours, as if the matter was wafting and shining. Interesting how you describe your thoughtlessness and the inability to even formulate thoughts in the mind. Unfortunately I don't know if I felt the same. I strongly remember the feeling that I was unable or unwilling to lie or pretend. I said what just came to mind spontaneously and one last splinter of inhibition in the back of my head wanted to warn me to wear my heart on my tongue too much. But it didn't bother me, I was infested with an irrepressible humour as well as a deep seriousness, and sometimes I completely lost control of my body. To say I hit the ground without any attempt to intercept myself. I can't remember the impact, but a vague memory of the falling itself. ....

I suppose the dose might have been a little higher as I now think again of this experience, since I had never lost body control in this form before or after.

Basically, the experience is inexplicable ... . I have no words for it. But it was a deep experience, nothing to compare with and I didn't find it frightening, but rather refreshing and unique. I can't confirm that it took away my fear of death, but people are very different in spirit.

I am rather of the opinion that I try to meet death through practical experiences or that I am of the notion that one never loses the fear of it completely and can only look at the habit that one accompanies dying people or often sees dead people. Unfortunately, there is no mortuary cult anymore in this country, we lock the topic in a septic bottle.

... From the Buddhists I hear that one doesn't have to block oneself against this fear and accepts that dying is something frightening. This is to make it easier.
After all, we are afraid to walk over a narrow ridge when there is a deep gorge below us and it would be unusual not to have anxiety. The fact that we do not block fear, but accept it, it is said, would then soften it, or the practical exercises and contemplation on the subject "death" would soften it.

Thanks for giving space to also share.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience. I always enjoy hearing about others mushroom experiences. I agree that not everyone will have the same experience. I think that there will likely be commonalities but each individual is unique so naturally each experience will be unique to that person. I think that mindset, setting and dose (among other things) also plays a large role. "Inexplicable" and "no words" are a good way to describe it. I also agree that having some fear of death can be helpful if it is rational - it keeps us safe and alive and helps us avoid risks etc. Thanks again for the thorough and well thought out comment :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58439.16
ETH 2965.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69