You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STOCK PHOTOGRAPHY – Do I have the right to use it on Steemit?

in #philosophy7 years ago

Excellent article and an important conversation to have! There is still far to much ignorance surrounding copyright and I fear its self inflicted ignorance. The information IS out there for people to look up.

It also bothers me that somehow people take copyright of music very seriously yet somehow a photographers work they don't. Even musicians blatantly steal photographers' work and see it as no big deal .. (sorry getting a little worked up about this, don't mean to rant).. but really musicians of all people should no better!

Sort:  

There is very real support on here for the written work, I'm discovering! Plagiarism is not tolerated, but photography is fair game! It baffles me! How long does it take and how much has it cost for someone to write a couple of paragraphs? I have also just discovered that everything on here is searchable on Google! I thought that somehow, this was Private! I have no idea why I thought that, but it changes a lot of things! That means that artists and agencies are going to find the violations eventually, and they will see that it it shows how much someone is making off of their work!

"That means that artists and agencies are going to find the violations eventually, and they will see that it it shows how much someone is making off of their work!"

THIS.

Yeah that will happen eventually. I did notice that there is some policing on photos here. I came across a post that was rated so low that the whole post was hidden.. so i took a look and it turned out someone there tried to pass off someone else's photos as their own. When they couldn't prove they were the photographer the curator/moderator lowered their rep score to the point where their entire account was hidden.
But yes, I think a lot of people here just lift images from the web thinking its fine. I have encountered a lot of posts already that are just people posting pics they like and stating underneath 'this is not mine, don't know who it does belong to, tell me if you know so i can credit them'. Which to me is just as bad.

Just saw this reply. I agree. Most people really don't see anything wrong with it. They are so bombarded with imagery, that they have no idea that just taking what they see is plain wrong. The newbies can maybe be excused one time, but if the big shots are doing it, it makes it harder to enforce. I just read an article about a blogger who ended up settling out of court for $7,500 for unauthorized use of an image. I don't know why some people are so blasé about it when it's only a matter of time before something happens on here! Some people are taking images from rather high profile photographers out there!

I've already run across a few accounts that do that. I've even seen someone quite blatantly post someone else's youtube tutorial video as though it was their own. People will suffer a backlash for it eventually. The best thing to do i think is to try and just educate people about it as much as possible.

Right! And I think we photographers need to be united in making sure people are educated about it. There are some places on chat where you can report abuse. There is a channel called steemcleaners--linkdrop where you can provide links to plagiarism and scams etc. Unfortunately, so far they will not do anything about copyright violation, only plagiarism. so, if someone uses a photo without attribution to the photographer, it is looked upon as plagiarism.

That's good to know, I'm going to look that channel up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67859.32
ETH 3799.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67