You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greed knows no bounds?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

I’m not willing to do much. Not much beyond abiding by my own ethical standards and compulsory obligation to myself to always give my best.

If success strikes, I can firmly state - based on past experiences - that I will not fall in the trap of temptation and increase output to reap even more rewards. That because I have earned much more previously and have lived a totally different lifestyle... one in whichI was absolutely not happier than I am now, with much less.

Additionally, I’m a firm believer in paying it forward. Especially paying it forward while trying to inspire others to seek and find success. As a certain tech CEO once famously said: I don’t want to be the richest guy on the cemetery.

Sort:  

Nice quote.
However, I would like to be the richest person in the cemetery - but only when 'rich' means to have an abundant amount of happiness, love and non-material achievements :)

Ironically he would be the richest person on the cemetery (had he received a traditional burial).

I often refer to that quote because the meaning of it to him, just like another famous quote of his about doing the things you want to do as if every day were your last day, was geared towards change. Towards improving the experience of the users of his product. It wasn’t a self-centric statement, only by proxy (or by cascading outcome).

Who was that illustrious CEO?
Steve Jobs.

Here I lie by the vestry door;
Here I lie because I'm poor.
The further in, the more you pay;
So here I lie, as warm as they.

For the most part, one can earn and take care of the self and help others along the way. Spiralling circles of value but, the system breaks when people expect more out than they put in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82