Simple pleasures

in #philosophy6 years ago

I chatted with a friend of mine yesterday, for most of the day. I say chatted although realistically we were not chatting at all, we text messaged; Back and forth, over the course of the entire day with the last message being around 8:30pm. It's not actually something I do a great deal to be honest. I mean lengthy text message communications like that, however, it was nice to chat like that for a change. It allowed me to get onto other tasks around the house and provided some respite from my tasks, humour and interest along the way. In short, I enjoyed it and the day was kind of perfect all around.

It made me think about a quote I read a little while ago that touched on the fact that we don't really need anything extreme or particularly special to happen to create a great day; The words they used were to have a perfect enough day.

Cowleds Landing oct 20177808.jpg

Many people push hard in pursuit of that great day, the perfect day, going to great effort to construct it when sometimes just accepting and enjoying what is actually going on in your day could be perfect enough, just like my day on Sunday. Nothing special or extreme happened. There was nothing remarkable about it at all and yet here I am on Monday recalling how enjoyable it was. How perfect it was or should I say how perfect enough it was.

Perfection is something that most, if any, will never attain; Can anyone truly say they have reached perfection? I don't know, maybe, but probably not. I'm sure someone may make themselves welcome to school me on it though. For me though I think not. Please feel free to tell me in the comments how you have attained perfection; It could be interesting reading. However, for the mere-mortals amongst us, like me, what we can do is accept and enjoy what's immediately around us and in so doing know that on the days we do this that is perfect enough.

I'm an introverted type of person really and so spending time by myself or with a very few others, seems normal; In fact I feel out of place in bigger groups. Excepting and enjoying extremely simple things comes naturally. This doesn't mean I can enjoy other things, just that I don't always need something special or extreme to happen to feel like I have had a great day. We're all different though. That's what makes us interesting.

Sort:  

The thing about perfect days is that they're gone by the end of 24 hours. I think you're right that it's better to be aware of what's good right now. Then no matter when you are, you'll be content, because you won't be chasing that elusive, but fleeting "perfect day."

Well said... Chasing that perfect day can certainly result in losing perfect enough in the process.

I do enjoy going places and doing stuff, but many times this involves a certain amount of stress. Sometimes a completely ordinary day turns out to be just perfect. Seeing that it's already Monday for you, reminds me I need to go to sleep. (I hope your brother is already resting at this hour😃).

I agree @ladyrebecca, going out and doing things is great fun. I tend to find enjoyment as often as possible and not only in things that are special or extraordinary.

Living in Australia means we get to start our working week before you...Also means Friday comes first too. 😉

Extraordinary things are around us, do not doubt, however, people often focus on other things and do not know about the wonders that are lost.

Ah yes, those sentiments seem to align with those most recently written in my post. Taking time to enjoy the simple things around us can bring enjoyment and satisfaction more often than rare days of pseudo perfection.

Contentment makes for a satisfying day, but it's a dangerous trap long term.
I've always found it hard to be motivated toward a goal when I'm content where I am.

Being content and not having goals is different to being content in simple moments and having goals.

I'm also a naturally introverted type of person, and I'm the same.

As I get older, the simpler things in life bring the most 'contentment'.
..I gotta stop looking in the mirror. (joke)

(I'm an introvert not a narcissist.lol)

:) With age can come wisdom... Fortunately.

I keep telling myself that.....and I'm sure it will apply to me one day...

Some people never find it although over time it tends to settle on a person organically. The difference is whether that person embraces it or not.

Every day is perfect and wonderful, but our own needs and tastes generate confusion and distort our perception of that perfect day, many times we feed our own dissatisfaction by making ourselves believe that certain daily events are to our liking and we are not even sure of that…

Excellent post friend @galenkp, Good night you rest ...

Most of my days are good but I'm easy to please :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I can relate.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.259 which ranks you at #2515 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 14 places in the last three days (old rank 2529).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 54.61% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86