LL&AA 004 -- The Blind Men and the ElephantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Steemit is turning out to be a surprising bastion of anarchy and personal freedom. As I am learning about Anarchy, Voluntaryism and now Agorism, it is telling that I am again reminded of the parable The Blind Men and the Elephant. Please if you haven't read it, find at least 3 flavors of it to contemplate.
Blind Men and Elephant
Below are several points I've come across for those that have pondered this story over the years. What follows is the core.

Several blind men each encounter an elephant. Each feels a different part of the animal. Each determines based on that limited exposure what an elephant is. Each determination, being limited in scope, is quite insufficient and different from the others.

The narrator then proclaims, "This is how we are when trying to understand Some Great Truth."

Not The Raj

In some versions the Raj, king, brings the men into a chamber to examine the elephant. As an Almost Anarchist, I'm more liking the flavor of the parable without the Raj. Too many new readers might take their view as being that of the Raj. Hubris allows some readers to feel they have a superior vantage point or ability to perceive. None of us on this plain are the Raj.

Some Anarchists want to be Archists

Even in anarchist conversations, I've had people tell me my path is too mystic and not rational enough. That to be a better anarchist I should reconsider my path and adopt theirs. This in the span of them examining my path for less than a day, nor knowing my life experiences any longer than that. Perhaps I understand and can leverage mysteries that are not yet explainable in rational terms. If I were to reject every observation that is not quantifiable or in line with the current rational world view, I wouldn't be an individual.

To me the beauty of the Non-Agression Principle is to "meet new and interesting people." I'm not here to convert you to my specific path.

A Raj

One is the sovereign of their own life. That means you should also take personal responsibility for it. While I appreciate those who post as I hope my posts will gain appreciation, ultimately it is about my view of the elephant for me.

Friendlies

A funny reasonably nice guy once a multitude of times said, "I reject your reality and substitute my own." We should consider but not be beholding to views that sound close to ours. This can expand all our understandings.

My take on this whole parable is as a blind man perhaps I can have a little wider perspective by contemplating (for more than a few hours) those whose paths are similar to my own or those whose mystical views resonate somewhat with mine? For those similar to me, do not expect me to totally jump on your path. For those quite a ways from my path, don't expect me to "get it" ever.

What we should all have is respect for each others' sovereign work in their own life so long as it isn't directly inhibiting one's sovereign work.

Asking and answering are good things. Keeping answers until after someone realizes they need to ask the question keeps the universal order.

What great truths do you enjoy sharing? What perspectives have you found close to yours? Let's see if we can connect a few more pieces of the puzzle.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gregvence! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75