You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making self-defense illegal is a bad idea, part three.

in #philosophy6 years ago

Hi @pomperipossa....are you then saying that the world would be a better and safer place if everyone had a gun? Is it really a ban on firearms that persons are calling for...or is gun laws that are more detailed and stern. I think that it should be made harder for persons to get and own a firearm. I once saw a video of an experiment that was done on how easy it was for a teenager to buy a gun....I dont remember which state this was in but the teenager simply walked into the store pointed at the weapon he wanted and just like that he walked out with a rifle....no questions asked.

In my opinion, guns do not define self-defense. Self-defense comes in many forms; having a gun is just one of those forms. The focus should be placed on fixing what is wrong with the process of obtaining a gun.

Must say, nice article. I appreciate the questions and your opinion. Keep up the quality content.

I like your thought provoking articles and as such will be featuring you in a Pay it forward curation contest hosted by @the darkhorse. Feel free to participate in the contest if you wish. All the best.

Sort:  

Hello, that is not what I am saying. I don't think guns define self-defense. There are other ways to defend oneself. I am not trying to argue about how easy or hard it should be to get a gun. I'm from Sweden and there it is illegal to have a gun for self-defense. Thank you for the compliment. :) How do I participate in the contest?

Oh I see....is it only military personnel who can own and carry a gun there?

You can participate by making an entry. Here is a link to the contest:
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@thedarkhorse/week-10-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

And here is a link to my entry.
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@honeysim/my-entry-to-week-10-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-steem-bounty-and-sbi-shares-thedarkhorse

Thank you. You can own a hunting rifle if you get a permit. But it's not allowed to own a gun for self protection. So except for hunters the only ones that have guns are the government and other criminals.

What I am saying is that I think the world would be safer and better if no one was trying to use guns and laws to keep guns out of ordenary people's reach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62