You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weighed, measured and judged...

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

The difference is I am more aware of what people who are prejudiced against me are really all about and more aware of who I actually am as a person.

Oh darn. I could have quoted almost your entire text and say: this is me. (Or a paragraph or two.)

I remember thinking when I was young that the things "they" are saying about me does not state facts about me, but facts about themselves. Unfortunately that did not comfort me as much as it does today and I became a very angry teenager. I sometimes hated everyone as I thought everyone around me were bad, evil and envious people. Cowards.

But the truth really is this:
If someone says: "Do you see those clothes that poor thing is wearing, horrible! Fat, ugly and poor." It is not a fact about the clothes or how that person looks like, it's a fact about the one who says bad things about someone else. Ugly person inside.

Judging a person on how they look for instance, or on information heard second or third-hand, or on the actions of other similar people.

I've always hated the sentence that starts a bit like this: "I have a friend that..." and the words following aren't good things but only bad. Mostly gossip that has only the view of one person: the one who is spreading the gossip or bad mouthing the person in question. My thoughts when hearing that kind of talk is: "I hope you don't think that I'm your friend because if this is what you do to your friends, I don't want to be your friend."

Pre-judgement really is one of the things we learn from home. First steps from our parents, next ones from our friends or from our haters, school, teachers, society. They all say with their actions: "This is how it's done."

And as you said, everyone does pre-judgement, some more than others, we all should think before we act upon our thoughts. Is this feeling that I get from that person relevant? Is it a fact or just my impression? My reaction of how that person looks, talks or acts. Is it relevant or could that person be good friend or go-worker, despite the fact what my first reaction is.

We, as humans, have the ability to learn, and unlearn habits.

Well said.

Sort:  

I've always hated the sentence that starts a bit like this: "I have a friend that..." and the words following aren't good things but only bad. Mostly gossip that has only the view of one person: the one who is spreading the gossip or bad mouthing the person in question.

Yeah , like that person at your new job who says..."Look out for so and so...He's ..."

All that tells me is to look out for the person who said it!

Thanks for your comments and I'm glad you can relate. I don't like to harp on the crap I dealt with as a kid really, but it was relevant to the post I guess. I'm no angel, nor am I perfect...I'm human like everyone else but I think a little before judging and that's all I ask anyone to do.

No-one's perfect. But there are two things that matter big time. How we can determine who are we as individuals and how are we doing as humans.

How much we do the things we do, much more good than bad? And do we learn from our mistakes? :)

Yes. I call it being the best version of ourselves, as often as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87