You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Dogs Have Souls?

in #philosophy6 years ago

howdy @willymac! LOVE your post topic of course and thanks for the mention, I did my post about dogs too because of our conversation, did it last night but couldn't send it of course.
Brilliant commenting, I knew you'd get great ones because almost everyone loves dogs and see their unique connections and abilities..I'll have to check out @steemonkey's recommendation.
thank you sir, great post!

Sort:  

Thank you, my friend. People can talk about their dogs even if they have zero else in common. That's not a bad trade-off, either. I actually like the subject and hearing about how others feel.

yes sir I agree, it's wonderful to have a universal subject that everyone likes and agrees on!

Rupert Sheldrake has some fascinating stories about some of the experiments that have been carried out over the decades. One study showed that when a particular species of rat learned a particular task in England, that same species of rat over in Australia immediately learned the same task faster. It seemed that there was a species related learning happening that resonates across the globe. He calls this theory Morphic Resonance and he claims it is common to all species.
Another similar story relates to birds. Before WW2 the birds learned over time that they could take the cream from milk bottles left at the doors in Holland. WW2 happened and the milk was no longer left out. A generation of birds came and went and after the war the new birds went straight to the cream even though they had never seen it before. Sheldrake's work is indeed highly fascinating.

whoa!! ..first of all Howdy from Texas @steemonkey! I don't think I've seen your username before so it's good to see you.
Does this phenomenon work with humans as well or do you know?
This is interesting stuff, the species related learning thing wow! never heard this stuff before thank you!

Hi @janton. Nice to meet you too. Yes it does work with humans as with all other creatures. Here is a very short introduction to Morphic Resonance. Sheldrake has more in depth presentations also on you tube :)

howdy back sir @steemonkey! thanks so much for this, I will watch it tomorrow, it's after 1 am here, gotta get some sleep.

Hey Cowboy! @Steemonkey's my buddy in Northwest England.

Ian, JohnBoy lives up in the black clay part of Texas.

yes sir! thank you. Howdy from Texas Ian! Long live the Queen! do they still say that in England? probably not!

Fascinating! Almost as if the information were encoded into DNA and passed to future generations. That could explain why birds know how to weave complex nests from the correct materials when they have never seen one built yet they are the same as its ancestors built even they never knew each other.

Exactly. Everything about it just sits right with me. My heart, mind and gut told me this made sense. I have to say that most of Sheldrake's work seems to ring true with me.

I'll follow up on his videos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89