A Message Through the Air

in #philosophy6 years ago

forest.jpg

Movie previews can really draw you into a different world.

One minute you're going about your normal mundane day, the next, you're transported into a place that allows you to escape the dreaded "normal". A place that allows you to experience those feelings; you know those feelings. The feelings that remind us why we're alive. For 2 minutes we are completely engaged, and upon its conclusion, only one word remains....More

Like Hollywood, life can also offer us previews. The foreshadow of something on the horizon or the conclusion of something present. Depending on which you would rather have, you might find yourself running towards this, or hiding in denial.

Recently I've been running towards an open door, but it's a tricky little bastard. Occasionally it'll allow me to go outside and experience the fresh air of what my life could be. Then there are other times where I get flung back inside and the door vanishes. Afterwards I'm left searching for some remnants of its presence. Back and forth, running around frantically looking for my door, like a child who has lost his mother. I crave the light from outside. I think 'well maybe if I do, this, this, and this, it'll come back'. Unfortunately, no one mentioned to me, that the morality around how we live doesn't always translate into desired outcomes.

So what's next?

Do you give up after life throws a curveball? Maybe not, you're tougher than that, or at least that's what you tell yourself. So you get back up and you begin your search again. Sometimes you get lucky and you find your door again on accident. You step back outside and breathe in that fresh air, you know the type I'm talking about. The air that reminds us why we're alive. Then, just as before, you're flung back inside.

The question now transforms from - can you handle this? - to - do you want to?

Is all of the repetitive pain of being flung back inside worth the brief moments of fresh air?

Some of you by now, have taken this allegory and equated it into something in your own life. If I'm correct in this notion, then I have done my job thus far. The real question I present to you going forward, is there another way back outside?

Maybe the fresh air isn't exactly worth of all this trouble? Is it possible that you don't really need to escape the mundane? Maybe what you really need is to escape the mindset that you always need more. Maybe you already have everything you need, and what is outside of your grasp is making you lose focus on what you already have.

Allow me to present the other side to this....

If you have come to the determination, that yes you do need the fresh air, make your own door. Stop chasing someone else's. Doors can be made out of anything and made anywhere. Make your own rules, and create your own happiness.

Until we meet again, remember to Detox your dilemma's, search for Lasers, and Ascend to new heights.

Sort:  

Beautifully written ! I love the perspective!! Doors CAN be made out of anything!!! <3

I'm glad you liked it! There will be more to come :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61