Richard Dawkins Says Lab Grown Human Meat Could "Eradicate The Taboo Against Cannibalism"

in #philosophy6 years ago

Controversial scientist Richard Dawkins recently made a post supportive of cannibalism on Twitter. In the post he said, "What if human meat is grown? Could we overcome our taboo against  cannibalism? An interesting test case for consequentialist morality  versus “yuck reaction” absolutism. "

https://twitter.com/RichardDawkins/status/969939225180364805

His post was in response to an article about the possibility of lab grown meat being on sale within the next year.  Dawkins seemed to insinuate that objecting to cannibalism is somehow intolerant or wrong, when there are many obvious and scientific reasons why cannibalism is a bad idea. 

Researchers discovered through studying cannibal tribes that the practice of eating human flesh often caused a fatal brain disease called kuru. This is just the worst thing that can happen to you from consuming your own species, it is well established fact that this can cause a long list of mental and physical illnesses.

According to Wikipedia:

 Kuru is a very rare, incurable neurodegenerative disorder which was prevalent among the Fore people of Papua New Guinea in the 1950s and 60s. Kuru is caused by the transmission of abnormally folded prion proteins, which leads to symptoms such as tremors, loss of coordination, and neurodegeneration. The term kuru derives from the Fore word kuria or guria ("to shake"), due to the body tremors that are a classic symptom of the disease and kúru itself means "trembling". It is now widely accepted that kuru was transmitted among members of the Fore tribe of Papua New Guinea via funerary cannibalism. Deceased family members were traditionally cooked and eaten, which was thought to help free the spirit of the dead. Females and children usually consumed the brain, the organ in which  infectious prions were most concentrated, thus allowing for transmission  of kuru. The disease was therefore more prevalent among women and  children. 

You may think that cannibalism is something that does not permeate into American culture, but as steemian @richq11 pointed out in an article this week,  Human Embryonic Kidney cells are used as "flavor enhancers" in popular drinks like Pepsi.

It is strange that Dawkins is attempting to normalize such an obviously unhealthy and dangerous practice, but perhaps he was just being edgy and trying to get attention as so many of these pundits often do. Dawkins is best known as a champion of atheist materialists, and is often making absolute statements about how reality is confined to the world of the five senses, while dismissing anyone with a different idea as an "absolutist."

In 2011, Dawkins was challenged by Graham Hancock to try psychedelics to see if it would change his mind about more supernatural or explainable phenomenon, and Dawkins has yet to accept the Challenge. 

This is not relevant to the story, this is just my favorite moment involving Dawkins, because it is the same challange that I put forward to most staunch materialists, and Graham Hancock is awesome.

Huge Thanks to @dwinblood for the tip on this story!
THIS WAS A STEEMIT EXCLUSIVE!!
AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY:

My name is John Vibes and I am an author and researcher who organizes a number of large events including the Free Your Mind Conference. I write for numerous alternative media websites, including The Free Thought Project @tftproject and The Mind Unleashed. In addition to my first book, Alchemy of the Timeless Renaissance, I have also co-authored three books with Derrick Broze @dbroze : The Conscious Resistance: Reflections on Anarchy and Spirituality, Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion and Manifesto of the Free Humans

I just won a 3-year-long battle with cancer, and will be working to help others through my experience, if you wish to contribute to my medical bills, consider subscribing to my podcast on Patreon. 

Or donate via:

Bitcoin:  35ZJyqPZqJi7tTCKtMddtnKaGDBnhLEaez
Ethereum: 0xbda87e26ed90e260ed6c101f57a409ce3c90c116
DASH:  XyE2YME982TXHcQo6HZYyWr37R1pnBC3iT 

Sort:  

No matter how much they try to push it, there are some lines that must not be crossed. It's not "taboo" for a human to consume human flesh. It's immoral. Evil. @ironshield

so it has been said about many other practices.

Any actual argument though?


Soylent Green is people!

I haven't had breakfast yet today. Now, I don't think I want to and I'm never drinking Pepsi ever again. I should just stop drinking all sodas for that matter. Where's the green faced emoji when I need one?

I've always thought Dawkins was an arrogant jackass. Whether he was serious or just trying to get people's goat with this tweet, I stand by my initial assessment of him.

i always think of the south park with him lol

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)
Relevance: Survival Food;]
Our Purpose

Interesting read. I think when mentioning Kuru it is worthy to note that the tribes buried the bodies for days, allowing extreme decay before exhuming their bodies and ingesting their flesh and maggots. In contrast, we refrigerate meat if it isn't being consumed right away to preserve it.

This is from the Wikipedia article on Kuru: "Corpses of family members were often buried for days then exhumed once the corpses were infested with maggots at which point the corpse would be dismembered and served with the maggots as a side dish."

I'm a vegetarian and have no interest in human meat, but I am guessing their particular method of eating buried rotten flesh could be a large factor in health issues.

There are some things that I'd really prefer not to know.

This is one of them.

I... I guess I can be grateful this was not a cultural practice I grew up with.

It's somewhat interesting to consider Dawkins ghoulish interest in cannibalism in this context. Sadly, he won't be able to get any rotting, maggot-infested human brains grown in labs.

Actually, no I'm not sad about that.

For Dawkins sake, I hope he's not either.

Haha yes, the burial/exhumation process adds an additional element of horror to the idea.

the problem is that there is no good way to sterilize something infected with prions, medical instruments used on patients of those diseases have to be discarded because they can't be reliably sterilized.

Sure, I wasn't challenging how infectious it may be. My response was regarding the suggestion that eating humans can lead to Kuru. I'm not a medical expert and it looks like the initial formation/cause of prions is still at the hypothetical level of understanding. I tried to find how many other instances there are of eating meat with that level of decay in other cultures and came up empty-handed, though I did see information about one nutritionist who claims to have cured cancer by doing so.

I see this from the Wikipedia article about prions: "Current research suggests that the primary method of infection in animals is through ingestion. It is thought that prions may be deposited in the environment through the remains of dead animals and via urine, saliva, and other body fluids. They may then linger in the soil by binding to clay and other minerals.[63]"

So my next question as to cause vs. transmission is: Do we have much research on the effects of eating badly decomposed meat? This is something scavengers do, and I did find this article on the spread of prions based on scavenger bird droppings: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3904308/

This is a small, yet more widespread group to reference, but there are cases about people resorting to cannibalism in survival scenarios, and I can't find evidence of such individuals contracting Kuru. The same can be said about serial killers who have engaged in cannibalism with their victims, I have found no evidence of Kuru. A list of cannibalistic killers for reference: https://www.ranker.com/list/killers-who-ate-their-victims/ranker-crime

My very amateur guess would tell me that the more decomposition a meat has undergone, the higher chances for various cell mutations. Perhaps animals in the wild could acquire prions when they have been forced to scavenge on badly decomposed flesh to survive. I don't have enough information to back up this suspicion, and I imagine scientists analyzing the remains of a dead animal with prions might lead to the assumption that it was "infected during life" instead of the result of decomposing, because they weren't analyzing it from birth. In any case, I don't think eating extremely decomposed meat of any kind would be without serious health risks for humans, which is why I think the cannibal tribe of Papua New Guinea is more of a unique case regarding cannibalism. And if they are perpetuating the infection by eating their own infected, the same still stands that they are a unique case.

his is a small, yet more widespread group to reference, but there are cases about people resorting to cannibalism in survival scenarios, and I can't find evidence of such individuals contracting Kuru.

It would be unlikely to occur in such a situation because the people they are eating are not infected. It happens more often in cultures that practice cannibalism on the regular because at some point someone was infected so they actually transmit it to each other when they eat other cannibals. You probably couldn't get it by eating non cannibals.

the more decomposition a meat has undergone, the higher chances for various cell mutations.

after something is dead it's cells stop dividing so the chance for cell mutations would go to zero as does the chance of those cell mutations being passed on to the next generation. The problem with rotten meat in general is things like botulism and e-coli.

Alright so we seem to agree, my theories aside, that Kuru only happens when eating the infected.

When you say "It happens more often in cultures that practice cannibalism on the regular" I assume you are talking about other than the Papua New Guinea tribes? Can you tell me which groups you are referring to so I can look them up? Thanks!

I don't know of any modern cannibalistic societies outside of PNG. It is banned there like everywhere else but they still do it a little. Despite the lush forest the soil in PNG is not the best and not terribly productive so the people there are always short on food and that is one reason they culturally practice cannibalism, that is a lot of meat to throw away.

There is a lot of information about CWD which is a prion disease that affects deer species in North America if you want to learn more about them. Even that is not entirely understood.

For the same reason why everything should be “legal”, I’m not going to stop you... but I’m taking a mental note, and I’ll sell you to your friends for dinner if ya get to close.

I'm really hoping he's asking the question to get a rise out of people. To me it looks like the kind of idea one would see on Star Trek before it became "Space Action Adventure Time!". Perhaps it is just a throw back to when science fiction was about the implications of technology on morality before it was taken over by what I call "social science fiction" which I consider no more than just Will and Grace on a spaceship....

Dawkins is just asking provocative questions. As for Kuru disease, that's a specific case that wouldn't actually happen with lab grown meat... unless you make lab grown meat with the particular prion in question.

Seems like a good way to start a zombie apocalypse...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82