Philosophical Ramblings

in #philosophy5 years ago

What is it that drives the human need to be “special,” or to be “the one” who can do something like no other?

Classic example: finding that “one and only” love. Why does there have to be only one? Is it ego? Insecurity? Cultural conditioning?

I’m not saying it’s wrong, I’m merely posing the philosophical question.

As a child, I was told I was “special,” but that’s a lonely life, being smarter than others, or more “gifted.” Anytime you’re put on a pedestal, chances of falling are high and chances of feeling like you belong are low.

It’s been interesting reprogramming my brain to accept the fact that I'm no better than anyone else. We’re all special in our own ways. Every human has a spark of creation, everyone has something to offer.

Maybe a secret loses its potency the more it is shared, but is that the same with a person’s attention? If that were the case, then a parent with many children would find their love diluted. But is it? I don’t think so.

The more we feel and share love, the more love we have to give.

So why does one person need to be more special than another? Why do we feel the need to be superior, to be valued over someone else?


bridge


We are constantly given examples of this “one and only” paradigm. Neo is “the One” in The Matrix, Disney princesses shine brighter than any of the other characters, and superheroes eclipse “normal” people in comics and recreations.

Sure, these are movies, but they’re the stories we tell, stories that are just as accepted in our daily lives as the horrors the news feeds us.

Are these archetypes speaking to us as individuals? Are they serving our evolution, encouraging us to rise to the inspiration of being smarter, stronger and faster, more kind and courageous?

Or are they creating more separation, more desperation for those of us who don’t see our gifts quite as easily—unrealistic expectations to which we can never measure up?

I don’t know if I have any answers here, but I’d love to hear your thoughts.

We are each unique in our own ways. I think if we acknowledge that, compassion, tolerance, and understanding will come easier to all of us.

Thanks for reading. :)

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of life.


alliance banner

Sort:  

It's the same reason why people push themselves beyond necessary, amass fortunes despite being rich enough to feed a country, go under for surgeries to make themselves prettier, slimmer than they are etcetera etcetera.
As kids we are compared with others around us especially if we are not pulling out weights in areas our parents consider important. see Katrina came out top in her class. Why can't you be a nice and gentle girl like Katrina? ladies do not climb trees! All of that makes people want to go beyond to please.
I feel that everyone, as you say, has a gift that us special or different from each other. We may not use them often enough or we may not even know we have it but they are there.
There are average nurses today who would make great models if they had the interest. There are policemen who could be Nobel Prize winners in literature if they could but sit down to write. There are boxers who could be brain surgeons and engineers who could be music superstars if they had bothered beyond their bathroom mirror concerts. No man is born without talent, in most cases more than one for that matter. When we begin to appreciate the beauty of creation in man, we would understand that everyone, given the same opportunities, can aspire to stand out as a gifted being, a superstar, a colossus in any field.

Well said! We're all multifaceted and there's so much to each of us. If we stopped focusing on having one person win and come out on top, and instead focused on being happy for each other's joy and interests, I wonder how the world would change.

That would truly make a difference in how we relate with each other. We are raised to find competition in everything and if you are not competitive, it is seen as lacking ambition.

is that the same with a person’s attention? If that were the case, then a parent with many children would find their love diluted. But is it? I don’t think so.

Love is often referred to as a fire and for good reason. You said it yourself, the more it is shared, the more we feel and seem to have to give. Just like a fire, the more you feed it, the bigger and more warmth it provides. Oh, and love the picture sweets. Love itself, is a bridge to many things.

I belive so to, feed the fire and it keeps loving 😊Well said!

Just like a fire, the more you feed it, the bigger and more warmth it provides. Love itself, is a bridge to many things.

^^ THIS! Feed the fire. ;) Thank you for the sweet comment.

"There will always be somebody better than you" is a saying I heard growing up. It was a way to bring oneself down to reality and not to get your hopes up. It may not have been nice to hear, but it would inspire me to be better at what I did and not to get upset or depressed when there was something I did not do as well at. It helped me to be a good sport.

Sadly, I also turned out to be somewhat of a perfectionist and sometimes I strive too hard... too hard at pleasing others, too hard at being good at a chosen art, too hard at preserving my reputation, more often than not, too hard at anything and everything.

I do believe it is a product of our upbringing. It is natural, most parents who love their children to pieces will praise them so much that the child learns to believe it, to attempt to live it. Many parents push their children to be better or the best and some, both parent and child, will accept no less. Sadly though, it is a biased opinion in many cases, and while I do believe I am good at what I do, and there will be others who cannot do what I do, I am still always mindful that "there may always someone better than me"!

Lovely comment. Yes, I hear you on the perfectionism thing. It's a balance, striving for the best you can be, and also finding humility along the way.

I dont have any answers either, but I do have thoughts and questions in my own mind which I will not be able to express well

I think it is good to motivate oneself to do the best one can do in things we try, but not to feel the need to be the best or special, everyone is special in there own way, and I guess at any point in time in anyo thing there can only be one who is deemed ot be the best, but there can be millions doing there best who should be happy with that and not obsessed with being the best

I agree. Everyone is special in their own way, and the best we've got each day is perfection. <<< THAT! Wow. The best we've got each day is perfection. Never phrased it like that before. I think I'll plant that in my perfectionist mind and chew on it for a while. ;)

I do love the way you phrased it myself I think its quite cool way to put it

Sorry need to tell this finally but your post end always make me smile😄

Love the purple hat and the singing your song line

Posted using Partiko iOS

So glad they make you smile. :)

hmmm
is there a one and only love for someone?

I've always wondered!

Me too! Thanks for stopping by. :)

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub & #positivexposure

You can see our daily report in this link

Thank you! That photo was taken in Krakow, Poland, during Steemfest3!

As I get closer to being 40 I have realized that no matter how much money I have that I have everything I need. I often think about that brand new car or a swimming pool but will those things ultimately make me happy? Maybe for a little while but all of that fades and at the end of the day you are always left with yourself and your thoughts. I also realized no matter how special or great you think you are there will always be someone who thinks they are better or treat you inferior because he or she is in a higher position of employment than you. The key is to stay positive and do the best you can every day. The job I Have isn't the best job of all time but I find the positive in every aspect of it. I work with entertaining and fun people, my boss is the nicest, funniest, most caring man I have ever worked for, it's a fairly easy job when it isn't a busy season, which are very few times during the year, and I often get to leave early on Fridays and sometimes during the week. I am in a position where as long as I stay with the company I will one day truly have it made where most struggle with even finding a decent job. I never truly understood that everything does happen for a reason until I was hired with this company a little over 2 years ago but it all makes sense now. I'm not a millionaire and will most likely never be rich and famous but I truly am rich in spirit and live a good life with my girlfriend, 2 dogs, and my first cat I ever really loved. More people need to adapt to this way of thinking to change the world.
Keep on livin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97