What, exactly, makes you … you?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

How do you know you are you and not anyone else? Because of your body? Your identity?
maxresdefault (6).jpg

If you answered "My body" I will ask you a question. Pretty hard one.

"If every cell in your body gets replaced over 7 years, will I still be me in 7 years time?"

Your body will be completely new in 7 years. Would that still be you?

Let's make things even more confusing. You will change every cell with that of your best friend. Let's say your best friend name is Harry. You will look like Harry and Harry will look like you. Would that still be the same you that you know and loved before?

The answer to that question, in my opinion, is YES, you will be the same person. Even after every cell being changed. You will still feel like you. Because that is not the core of you being you. The body is your temple. Where the main thing that defines you is guarded. That is the brain.

Your whole body is a system that guards the brain. It is providing the brain with the survivability that it needs. Simply without the brain, the whole body is useless and vice verse.

Actually, your mind decides who you are. It decides whether you like something or not. By the amount of dopamine you release. For an example, if you enjoy singing, your body will release dopamine to inform you that. When the brain releases dopamine it will want to release it again as quick as possible. Basically, it will tell your brain: "Yeah sing more". It just makes you feel good. You found your passion.
control-your-thoughts-focus-take-action-motivational-gym-quotes.jpg

So your mind decides who you are by what you love? Exactly. And our fears are setting boundaries to what we can be.

But the core thing in who you are. Are your thoughts. Then we get to my other question that is kind of tricky:
"Are your thoughts yours or they are being affected by the environment and other factors?"

Do you like for example wearing black or you like it because it is trending right now?

"-What are your thoughts on math - said, Bill
-I hate it - said Emilly
-Why do you hate math?
-It is not my thing."

Do you really hate it or someone explained it to you poorly?

These are factors affecting your personality, your attitude, you ... being you. Because of your teacher you now are not exactly you.

And you can ask yourself. How much me, am I? Am I being affected every day and not being me? Because someone else said so. You need to observe everything. You need to find your real you. If you don't do that. You will live others peoples unlived lives.

Just ask yourself: Why is my attitude towards maths negative? Because of my teacher? If the answer is yes, you need to check if you really hate math by trying to learn it on your own. This applies to everything. Just a simple question can really change everything.

My mother wanted me to become a folklore dancer from an early age. I said to her: "Mom, I really don't want to." But she insisted and I spend 4 years dancing. But I did not enjoy it. Not because I don't like folklore dances, but rather because I like watching it more than participating. So I spend 4 years not being me. Living the life of my mother. Yes, I was young and it didn't matter so much, but still is an example.

You... being you is the greatest gift you can have. Don't waste it for another one's life and dreams. Thank you for being you. God Bless.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Nice post. In my opinion, we are not the same we after a significant amount of time. This is in physical aspect. That is because cells renew every now and then. However, we forget that it is not the cells that make us human beings. It is the invisible connection humans felt. Invisible stuff that differentiates us from others. Our brain...yes. Our emotions...yes. That is what makes us human beings. We may change physically. But we are we still.

On a physical level, we are always changing. That is why we are not defined by our physical self, but rather our spiritual. Thank you for taking the time to comment. God Bless

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89