You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Things Matter: Meaning and Responsibility

in #philosophy6 years ago

Hey Nick, sorry I am late to this post, I always enjoy your essays.

My view on this is that nothing exists but subjectivity. If we take our experience itself as the only true evidence of the nature of that experience, as it were. Then, if we see this honestly, there is only the knowing of experience itself. We could indeed legitimately state that all experience is only made of the knowing of it - pure subjectiviity.
No scientist has, or could ever, discover this 'objective thing' termed matter, nor, I would postulate, will they ever.
As complex and chaotic as life appears, it is, at its heart, no objective.
We are the dreaming of the dreaming.
That my spin.
Thanks.

Sort:  

Thanks so much, I always enjoy your responses.

I would very much agree that the only thing we can ever be sure of is the fact that we are conscious. We might never understand the full mechanism, or conditions for our subjective experience, be we can definitely assert that there is an experience.


Cogito ergo sum
I think, therefor I am - René Descartes


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68