S U N D A Y | M US I N G S ✨ Feeling the Fear + Doing It Anyways ✨

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

S U N D A Y | M U S I N G S

IMG_3552.jpg

Today we’re talking about the big ol’ “F” word.

FEAR.

We’re not going to talk about how to get rid of it. Nope - that won't work & we'll talk about why. Instead, we’re talking about how to live WITH fear in harmony without letting it rule your life.

IMG_3456.jpg

Feeling The Fear + Doing It Anyways

As @richardcrill and I transition into full-time RV life, I’m experiencing a lot of fear triggers. In the past, I’ve always found my feeling of security in my daily routines. My current routine is completely non-existent - except for my daily cup of coffee.

We’re still in renovation phase of our home on wheels, our things are currently in between two places as we’re installing our floors, we have 3 dogs who are also noticing their lack of routine, we’re figuring out how to balance our work on Steemit with our newfound freedom, and the list goes on.

20180326_183227.jpg

IMG_3478.jpg

The Truth About Fear

The truth is, we all have our own triggers for fear. And we tend to think that if only our situation was different, then we’d no longer feel fear, or negative emotions.

In my case, I’m constantly thinking “I’ll feel good again when I have my routine back”, or “ Once I’m making X amount of money, I’ll feel secure.” The problem with this thinking is we’re relying on an external factor to bring us feelings of happiness, security, and safety instead of doing the work required within.

I hate to even call it work - you see, it actually requires the opposite energy of work.
✨You don’t have to agonize, or dwell on it until you find the magical answer.
✨You don’t have to journal every day about it.
✨You don’t have to psychoanalyze yourself, or even judge yourself for having fear in the first place.

Call It Out!

IMG_3176.jpg
(Taking a break from the stress of renovating - Instagram filters help)

You must first simply understand fear for what it is, a signal that you’re not currently in vibration with who you really are - LOVE!❤️

I think the more we let ourselves feel “bad” for having fear, the more we keep ourselves stuck in a vicious cycle of guilt that goes something like this: you feel the fear, you feel bad for feeling the fear, you now feel fear that you’ll never stop feeling fear, and it goes on. Anyone else recognize this cycle? 🙋‍

Once we’re able to fully accept fear as a part of ourselves, we no longer allow it be something bigger than ourselves that controls us. Accepting that fear is as much a part of you as your breath is the foundation of understanding fear itself. It comes and it goes, but you don’t have to give it your full attention. Only from a place of acceptance can we start to move from a place of fear to love.

TBH, I’m writing this article more for myself than anyone else. I’m really enjoying writing these Sunday Musings - it’s always a point of reflection for me on what I want to focus on for the next week. We’re traveling to Las Vegas & we’ll be there for about a week, so I’m definitely going to be using some of these tools to keep my fear in check while I’m in limbo this month.

May we all feel the fear and do it anyways!

I hope you all have a stellar week! Can’t wait to meet some amazing Steemians at the Steem Creators Conference!

Lindsey
@lindseylambz
@thedodgemahal - follow our travel account!
✌️&❤️

Sort:  

Transparent Reality....

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @anomadsoul, @GuyFawkes4-20, @martibis and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @GuyFawkes4-20

Oh wow!! Thanks so much!! @sndbox-alpha 💕

This is so true, I recognize the dear cycle very much. Since I'm very self aware, I really do see how the cycle progresses but then when I see the fear as normal, it doesn't really have effect on me again.

No fear! Looking forward to seeing more on the journey you guys are about to embark upon. Safe travels!

Well deserved break time for both @lindseylambz & @richardcrill

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48