You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Something from Nothing: Procrastination. Idealism. Nihilism.

in #philosophy6 years ago

My experience with procastination is that it is the fear of failing in the task. Then you push it away, ignore it and when it is too late you try and.. fail. So, yes I agree, it is a negative reinforcement.

My trick to trick procrastination is that I am trying to write down how much I spend with different things. After doing it for a while you get some nice stats where you can see how lazy (or not) you are. It can be quite shocking when you realize how much time of your life you spend with unimportant nonsense and how little with those things that give you something back (education, friends, sports..). At least for me, keeping an activity record helps to bring me back on track..

Sort:  

the quantified-self approach can certainly be illuminating. happy to hear it works for you.

For me, I unconsciously know when I'm fucking around and how much time I've wasted. When that fact comes to the surface, I feel harrowing dread. I might end up working from that feeling, or I might be up all night hating myself. So really I think it's not as effective for me.

I try to take the mindfulness approach. be aware in the moment, lose the idealism, feel no weight for the task, just trying to 'be'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87