You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction to effective altruism

in #philosophy6 years ago

Tkank you for sharing this, my brother. Its something I was searching for without knowing it exists :)

A couple of months ago I stumbled upon the word "prosocial" and I was confused. It seemed like something I never saw, but somehow it was like and old friend. And the word made perfect sense because we have social, antisocial and of course prosocial is in that family. So I did some digging and this is not a well researched subject and got a little upset. There is way more knowledge about antisocial behavior that prosocial behavior, and that explains a lot about how things run today. This word resonated so much with me that I started down this journey of understanding and building prosocial behavior.

I really am very happy I found you and your content. Thanks @alexdory. I've read more about effective altruism and its the most concrete and coherent prosocial concept I came across since starting this journey. I am really excited to find out more, I will give the whole website a read and I'm already subscribed to the newsletter.

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words!

I'm excited that after being somewhat ignored for a while someone actually clearly benefitted from this post. :)
I, too, wonder why this concept isn't more widely known. I think sometimes effective altruism markets itself a bit too much to the "hardcore rationalists", at least that's my impression. The word itself can sound slightly "cold".
But nonetheless it's a movement with an incredible potential and I am glad I found it.
The people I work with are incredibly "pro-social" and inspiring . :)

Seems steemit's incentive structure isn't particularly rewarding towards prosocial behaviour.
I hope I can strike a balance between being helpful and nourishing towards the community, and not leaving all the profit for the exploitative people on here.

After all, I could use the profit to bring important ideas like these to a larger audience.

There are ways of balancing it for sure. The most effective would be starting a curation process for this type of content and search for SP delegation to create an income for the people that write about these sorts of things :)

You mean trying to find someone to delegate me SP so I can curate people with this type of content? How could I find someone to do that?

Maybe not to just one account, but maybe we can create a prosocial project and find SP for that account and we can do curation from there. I would like to talk on discord, my id is lishu#0022

Ah, OK, sounds like an interesting idea, I'll keep it in mind.

If you are active on reddit I've created the subreddit /r/SteemitDiscussion/. I think that might become another good platform for community building and project discussion.

I am only active on steemit, but I'll kepp an eye out for reddit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92