The Way Things Are

in #philosophy6 years ago

A while ago I shared here on my blog a conversation I had had with my dad, asking him what the point of life was and that I felt there was no point, while feeling a little down and confused.

If you didn't see that post, his answer was plain, simple, concise, logical, reasonable. My dad looked up at me and said: "But Lyn, there is a point. The point of life is living."

As he said it something in me clicked and the world made sense, even if just for a moment. Because my dad and I have had many such conversions since I was little, and because I know and understand my dad, I knew instantly what he meant by it or how it was meant as I'm sure many others do too.

But the conversations that followed between myself and friends and other family members made me realise that some may not see it for what it is and would try to uncover layers of his response instead of just appreciating it for what it is. His wasn't a layered response, but a declaration of the truth, The Way Things Are.

Today I read a quote by Alan Watts which explains it perfectly:

"The meaning of life is just to be alive. It is so plain and so obvious and so simple. And yet, everybody rushes around in a great panic as if it were necessary to achieve something beyond themselves."

What a great quote.

I love The Way Things Are.

Thanks for reading,
lynb

Sort:  

So glad to be reading your post again. It is far too long between your writings. I do look forward to them.
As far as living life .....it really is such an easy thing to do. Sometimes, it feels like the money making parts are difficult, but usually it is my attitude that needs adjusting. IMO the only reason to live life is to love others. Much love my friend. I hope you are alright.

I am going to resteem this post because I think you are a special kind of person. 🐓🐓

Hello my friend. I have missed browsing around here but school opened last week and we've been pretty busy.
I also have an issue with my writing, which is why I haven't written much lately. I've noticed I write about myself way too much. Even if I write about something not about me, I still have so many "I"s in the text. It's something I've been reflecting on and trying to adjust within myself.

I agree that money makes life difficult. But also agree that it's our attitude towards it that can change.

Perhaps if we manage to live in the now and enjoy the process instead of chasing some big reward we've been promised at the end of some very distant rainbow that keeps moving farther away as we chase it, then we will be happier and the rest will follow. I don't know.. but I'm going to try it.

I hope you are getting better and recovering from your flu!? Big kisses to all your critters.

Lots of love,
lynb

I eye I am going to have a conversation about your writing, because I Love it. My favorite story you wrote was about you traveling to see a friend in a very cold place In Italy maybe.... Eye was so disappointed that it didn’t make more money for you, because it was perfect. Took me there, felt the cold, the discomfort, your loyalty to your friend, the cafe where you warmed yourself.
We are such harsh critics of our own behaviors. So I want to say what your Dad might say don’t worry about the imperfections just live life. People are just People. Eye want so badly to read about your latest adventure. We( your followers are far from perfect) so please don’t be so hard on yourself.
Feeling better every day and the critters are all doing a good job of keeping an I on me.Lol🐓🐓Much Love

😂😂

Thank you. Eye appreciate your words so much. 😘

Simple as that😊🌺I try to do it just like that, life is to short to do otherwise ☮️

It is pretty simple. We, human beings, love to complicate it though, and make our own lives so difficult.
Thanks for reading. Just had a look at your blog and loved your travel writing! I was in Thailand in December too. You really went off the beaten track- I wish I had had time to do more of that!
Till next time,
lynb

Thank you for Reading my blog I´ll try to write little now and then on my travel🌺❤️☮️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68118.65
ETH 3786.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70