You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Social Conformity the Survival of the Fittest?

Conform or be ostracized as an outsider. That is often the choice we are given by society in general.

You start in childhood that girls plays with dolls and boys with cats and guns.
In school boys work shop building chairs and radios and girls do homeroom and cook.

People are expected to graduate, get a job, pay taxes, have kids and conform to a life dictated to what their elders had.

Conform or be branded as divergent and suffer ridicule and judgment how you are wasting your life in the pursuit of happiness that is not real.

Often branded as dreamers, heretics. Those that go against the flow are touted as troublemakers.

I myself have this tagged to me several times when I refused to go with management "prerogative" because of my moral ethics that I came about living my life to my ideals and desires and not as a dictated norm.

The trouble with a lot of people is that society is teh on calling the shots and can raise you up or destroy you.

So will we blindly conform to the beliefs of society in general or would we dare to be our own person and free ourselves from Plato's cave and look to the light of what is real freedom.

Sort:  

Indeed, conform to rise with everyone, or stand out and be destroyed by the mob :/ Quite bleak and crazy to think about it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68241.10
ETH 3783.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65