Comparison is the Killer of Joy

in #philosophy6 years ago


So many people default to comparing themselves with others. Wallet sizes, reputation scores, witness ranks, you name it. Now, it's not that I don't understand the frustrations, of course I do. It's that I know where the path leads.

I gave this little thought a go with the camera. We often talk about this in the @helpie meetings, but I figure it's a powerful message to share with the rest of the community.

Hope everyone is having a beautiful Wednesday

@meno

Youtube Mirror for Posterity


Ps.- As you can see, I was able to borrow a better cell phone to record a quick video, the difference is so huge I'm calling my phone the potato cam.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I was wondering if I had the SP wallet of a whale would I be a Haejin or would I be a surpassinggoogle.

The worst part of comparing ourselves to each other is the fact that everyone is flawed! Why should I compare myself to another flawed person? At best I am measuring myself with someone who is flawed. Not much of a measuring rod huh?

great point @jbus - everyone is fighting their own little battle..

Once we see ourselves as unique any comparison ends. Once you'll see smartphone cameras as unique you wont be dissapointed anymore by yours. The most important thing is that you have something to say and not the camera you record with. To end the comment with a "useful" comparison I will say that I have a very good camera on my smartphone but not once have I recorded myself and uploaded on dtube. Still hidding behind the keyboard. Keep up with the good work!

Once we see ourselves as unique any comparison ends.

I like that, I might quote you one day.

Cheers mate

I'll keep an eye on your posts to see the quote 😎. Oh, I forgot, I keep it anyway. Keep up with the good work. It's appreciated.

Those people are always making excuses... I hate it, but REALLY HATE IT when I listen to people saying: "rich people were born rich" it's the most used excuse in the world, those people are just a bunch of quitters and whinners that don't want to make any effort to learn and to grow! They try once and stop trying after a short time because they see they aren't getting any results! What they don't realize is that growth is not linear, it's full of ups and down, but it's mostly exponential and not linear, which means that growth will be really slow at first and when things pick up it will be freaking fast!

I hate whiny bitches that make excuses... "I can never grow on Steemit because my english is not good enough" or "I can never grow on Steemit because no whales upvote me", then learn english and keep going until someone notices you! This is a grind, don't expect things to fall down from heaven on your lap just because you prayed really really hard...

that's some rough love right there.... I like it!!

Rough love is the best kind of love! i will leave slow and gentle love for when I am old ...

I just do my thing
I have never been of competitive nature, I know some comparison and competition might be healthy, motivational even, but it's just not in my blood, I just try to do my thing and move forward. Yes, sometimes I get discouraged here but it has nothing to do with others, or with the unfair things, or rigging (it does exist and makes no sense to deny it) but that doesn't take me to want to share what I do with the ones who appreciate it here. Another window, another people, one or many. The only issue is the time... that is what discourages me... to do the math (not the math of the rewards) but the time Math.
Still trying.
always trying my best!

I feel like I've heard this somewhere before. :D

Clay, lets do a dlive together... Lets do live curaish of Philosophy.. and talk about entitlement!

When.. Name a day and a place (internets)

We talk about this so often in helpie, but this can't be said enough... right?

LOL, I was curating philosophy when I found this post. Guess it passed me by somewhere in the feed yesterday.

Obviously this @meno guy is one of the ones rigging the system. :D

Jokes aside though, one of my favorite quotes that I try to remind myself of every day. Especially when we are all so fundamentally different as human beings, as personality types, as the result of our strengths and weaknesses, I think it's so important to keep that focus on paving your own way. Envy starts you down paths you're not meant to be on.

I think anyone that invests or posts on this block chain is doing something good for them self. If they make a lot of money say witnessing blocks or on a post they did. I'm happy for them. Even if they used a bid bot. If they receive profit, or they gained the eyeballs they sought out, that's a good thing. I'm happy when people have good experiences here, and if they make money that's even better. The more people who can carve out some earnings off the chain we have the more people who can spend time creating good content, promoting, curating, witnessing, and the other important things.

that's a healthy attitude brother... celebrating triumphs with others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67597.54
ETH 3772.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55