A story about a Fisherman

in #philosophy6 years ago


There are still some ripples left from the conversation I had with @clayboyn I guess. I remembered this story today and I figured it would add a little more perspective to the conversation we had last night. I'm sure over the years I've changed (not intentionally) the story a lot, however, what's important is the core message it tries to convey.

More Philosophy, very fitting for a rainy sunday....

@meno


• If you had an opportunity to talk to an investor about STEEM, would you?
• if only I had some monies...
• Bitcoin Dominance is Cray Cray
• So what? I'm not willing to sell anyways...
• Helpienaut Friday Meeting 8/10/2018


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

The Florida storm didn't like your story. It was like, what, lower Florida productivity so you can be happy, shabang fisherman, the sea ain't safe for you no more!

I think it's a great story. It's a first world story about first world problems, of course, as around the world, many people are not high up enough in terms of Maslow's hierarchy of needs, to worry about contentment, but I think it's basically true. If, like the fisherman, you are content, don't kill yourself in the name of contentment.

Big picture, first figure out what you want and need, on a deep level, so that when you do invest the limited moments remaining in your life into something, you can be passionate about it, and it will be glorious. :)

Hi meno. Nice story but rings true. You don't have to have all the riches to do the simple things. Money does help though as it gives you choices.

Correct my friend, but the question must be asked... What do we want out of life?

That is a great story. I have heard the same (very similar) a few years ago and it really hit home with me. The idea of making money gets lost on people when they miss the even more important point. You need the money to live the lifestyle you want to live. If you are just chasing the money and missing the life style... then there is a problem. The fisherman already had the life he wanted. Catch a few fish, make enough money to enjoy the day and feed the family... repeat. There was no need for all of the business stuff to be done... he already made it.

I find myself working too hard often and I feel it is the only thing that I can do right now... but I have that end goal and I am just not quite there yet. Thank you for sharing.

I love this story, it puts my mind back to earth... I don't ever want to chase the mighty dollar blindly again.

... and I think you summed up t he moral of that story perfectly with that reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64