The always present compromises

in #philosophy5 years ago
It's been years since I had to call someone boss officially, and honestly I never thought that would ever happen again. Now I'm fully aware that my ego is speaking at the moment, but I'm just being sincere for whatever that's worth. You see, there is this idea I've had for the longest of times that no matter what, you are not supposed to take steps back, not even to rest, but truthfully I'm coming to grips with the notion that the line of thinking is flawed to say the least.



img src

What is making me scratch my head is the timing, what a time of the year to walk back into retail. This time however, I won't be pursuing managerial positions, I don't want them, not anymore. The retail system is quite enslaving and I don't want to be one of the ones holding the proverbial whip anymore.

You see, to get your salesforce to do good, to kick some butt, you have to be able to serve them the kool-aid. Tell them how if they apply themselves they can one day go up the corporate ladder and be someone, but none of that verbal jargon will escape my mouth because I don't believe in it one bit, and I guess I'm not that good at faking it.

Probably by the weekend I will be walking back into a store, looking at the walls and wondering how the boomerang just had to come back once more. Sales, always sales. I'm good at it, I like people, I like instruments, I play a ton of them, it's not hard for me to be excited about them because I love them but at the same time, I've grown to dislike consumerism so much, I don't know how to put the puzzle back together.

But.... here we go again... Recalibrating


View this post on Steeve

Sort:  

Dude, you could sell people a turd with your verbal skills..

challenging getting back in the game again, dont ever see it as a loss. See it as different times! (and kick some ass!)

At least you're selling something you're passionate about. If you're not working for commissions (I know they are more common in some countries, in the Netherlands you simply get an hourly wage, no commissions) you can have genuine conversations about music and instruments and your honest passion will either connect to the buyer or not - which is fine either way.

Good for you that you now know you don't want to grow into management positions. It will make the experience more relaxed, making sure at the end of the day your energy is still up, so you can be present here, you know, the only place we really want to be ;-)

Good luck <3

Thank you Rosa,you are always too kind

Posted using Partiko Android

@meno I have been there. Once you see the inside of retail you will never look at it the same. The wife was management at a big blue/red store, and to meet payroll expectations before Christmas they were told to cut hours/let people go. If it works for you @meno I am happy for you, but I have bad memories of just how tough you are supposed to be. Just to keep the people at the top rich🙃
You are just a number so sad......

Recalibrate ... a perfect them for these times.

Well, we have this sayig in Spanish, "no digas: de esta agua no beberé!"
Whatever you end up doing. best of luck, man.

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I wish the best for you bro. I was having some of those thoughts myself for the last two weeks. I'm not going to get into all of it here because I'm not trying to influence your decision to do what you need to do. I respect that and I got nothing but for love for you. Ultimately I don't think I can do it though. I'd rather be homeless and figure it out if it comes to it.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

A possible bright side is that you can strive to put a portion of your earnings in Steem so that when you return full time you are in a better position. Given the price, it may be the best opportunity ever...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76