The elasticity of Morality

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
When it comes to questions of ethics and morals we are as divided as we can possibly be. There are of course elements that are predictable, variables that can be observed defined or influenced by the environment we grow up in, but with "time and choice" some of the things we consider ethical when young begin to show their different colors.

If you have never thought of this there is a good chance you have not traveled enough and I'm not saying that as an insult, just as an observation. Cultures can be polar opposites and unlike some who tackle this subject, I'm willing to say that some cultures are quite incompatible.

I fully realize my words may sound offensive to some, but they do not imply the lack of tolerance, they are meant to invite honest reflection and acceptance of observable truths. Just a few days ago I read a great post about a tribe with a very unique system of educating their young and I was reminded once again that my own lens, my bias was quite useless to analyze the situation.

For us in the Western World the cultural practices of this particular tribe would be not only cataloged as barbaric, but as the open practice of one of the worse kinds of child torture. I would recommend to you stop by @zyx066's blog and give it a good read, it really gets the mental gears going.

The fork in the road

It becomes quite obvious that in their world, our concepts of morality and ethics are as useful as chop sticks for eating jello. It does not mean though that one of us could not attempt to adapt to their culture and be functional within their society or viceversa, it's just very, very unlikely.

From where we stand, it might be too easy to call them archaic and dismiss them as remnants of a past that will eventually go away. From where they stand we, the westerners are these strange humans who destroy the planet, don't respect nature and act like monsters. The question then becomes...

Who is right?

The answer is almost comically expected.... "context matters"

Is change necessary, is intervention needed?

This is exactly where real conflict makes his power-point presentation. Have we not been here before? I can't think of a single instance where cultural oppression and replacement resulted in a harmonious outcome, but I'm willing to learn and correct my own thoughts on the matter.

Today however, I'm of the idea that Morality and Ethics have to left to be evaluated within their field of operation and governance. Meaning that they can only be "judged" if they bring harmony and functionality within their established communities. This is not to say that all aberrant behavior (out of the social norm) can be or should be excused, it simply invites us to evaluate what we perceive as "the norm" with a lens that is not our own.

Why is it important to think about this?

To gain perspective of course, to maybe think about our own concepts of morality and ethics, to think about how much of what we hold as "truth" belongs to us and how much was given, or to be more accurate, how much as strategically incepted. Food for thought as they say.


(signature by @bembelmaniac )
Sort:  

Thanks so much @meno! I'm truly honored to feature in one of your productions :-)

Now, who's right, you ask. The answer is obvious in my mind: we're both right. As much as I rant against the market economy as we know it, not all is bad. And as much as we westerners disapprove of the methods of the Kogi, no one can argue the results. What they do is a form of conditioning we could improve upon, do it in a totally different and much more humane way; we already have the school buildings...

What they (the Kogi) show me is something we all know, or should know: human beings are the most adaptable, changeable and flexible creatures on the planet. I'm sure you've heard of feral childs; if our surrounding consists of wolfs, we become wolfs. But in human society we are in the unique situation that we are made by the environment we create ourselves. As a group of whichever size we can grow to. As a society, together, we are able to create and re-create each other. I truly believe in paradise on earth, if only we all saw the truth of it. Some cultures, maybe almost all cultures, start as incompatible: time and choice will change that (I think. I believe. I hope.)

Love all the reactions here: food for thought indeed :-)

Here you go, a big upvote for being a great thinker...

says the great philosopher... :-) One of my favorite quotes is from an interview with Albert Einstein. When he was asked in an interview how it feels to be the greatest mind to ever have lived on Earth, his answer was: "I don't know. You would have to ask Nikola Tesla"... ;-)

Thanks, my friend!

I appreciate this post a great deal because it's very personal to me. Sometimes I find myself undecided of whether or not I'm agnostic or just some kind of universal spiritualist. This because I see deep value in culture and tradition and with that the evolution of religions, beliefs, and the various qualities that make social groups unique.

Many moral justices have demonized, demoralized, dehumanized, and have committed genocides based on different moral beliefs. I learned this early in my life, living in Massachusetts not far from Salem where people were burned for being accused of Witchcraft. Not much had changed here other than the fact that burning people alive is now considered illegal. Sometimes I wonder how those people could justify burning a human being alive but demonize basic chemistry (like making asprin) as voodooo.

I have great respect for life, all life. Simultaneously, I see it in raw form. I was just educating a vegan friend of mine about the life of a lettuce — and how it can hear itself being eaten alive. She laughed at me until I shared the science. My point was, at least we kill animals before we eat them. She thinks I'm crazy. I'm probably crazy.

Getting to a point I think, lol... Oh yeah, well, many people have found themselves intolerant of me in the past because I hold that morals are not absolute. In the past I've argued the seemingly positive applications of just about every "sin." Folks don't like that shit...

For instance, is it wrong to lie to save a life? Is it wrong to lock up and murder a serial baby rapist? Is it wrong to be greedy to have something to feed your children? Is it wrong to steal something back that someone stole from you?

Some argue that circumstancial ethics are not ethics at all. And I'd argue that absolute ethics are the embodiment of delusion.

Why is humanity so bent on being gods to the exclusion of being mammals— lacking empathy for anyone who is different?

There I go "circle-talking" again... Thanks for posting this. You're much better than organizing your ideas than I. I learn a lot from you.

What a fascinating mind you have Omi...

Why is humanity so bent on being gods to the exclusion of being mammals— lacking empathy for anyone who is different?

This is a post on its own and as much as I enjoy answers like most of us sapiens, I'm more fascinated by the unanswerable questions...

Cool post. I think morality has a direct relationship with comfort in a sense. The more comfortable your life is the more you can worry about "morality". Like these over privileged sjws and their twisted sense of whats "just" vs the peak of starvation in communist regimes that led people to eat their own children.

Those are the extremes, but there is no morality anywhere in "Deep Reality", its a concept and blueprint we all have to develop individually and act accordingly, or not lol.

We're all wild animals still, it just takes dire circumstances to reveal the monsters. Morality is a sheet of ice with the depths of chaos beneath, the more comfortable your life is the thicker the ice.

#staycomfortable

there is no morality anywhere in "Deep Reality"

What I find so interesting is that deep reality is the only real reality, if there is even one at all. All evidence proves, most people live in a fantasy.

You know... I like your brain a lot and the good news is, I'm not a zombie.

that was pretty epic my friend.. i might quote you one day..

Morality is a sheet of ice with the depths of chaos beneath, the more comfortable your life is the thicker the ice.

The moral values of an individual are as unique to him as his fingerprint. It is important to our survival that we all think differently lest we follow the example of the lemming. What we are seeing today, not just in the USA, but all over the world is an unhealthy level of intolerance for independent thought. Reminds me of Germany in the 1930's.

You paint a grim picture there, but I think you make a strong point. The challenge becomes, how can we teach perspective to the younger minds?

The government and news media focus on diversity that is truly only skin deep. Opinion diversity is so much more important yet as you well know is not tolerated. So if we are all supposed to think alike who gets the honor of having the collective mindset? You, me, Hillary Clinton, Donald Trump, or how about Charles Manson. Who should we all think like? Opinion diversity is the upside of free-will in my opinion. To the intolerant it is the downside.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69590.59
ETH 3887.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73