Time traveling is possible

in #philosophy6 years ago
So this might sound a little on the crazy side, but hear me out. I heard this concept a while back from someone I met casually. It always happens with me, I don't really like having shallow conversations that much, and in one way or another, I'm always pushing to take the dialogue into the realm of philosophy. I don't care much about cars, I certainly don't care at all about clothe brands, none of that stuff. So, I'm always throwing out some crazy ideas, some wild ways that I look at things to see what catches on and takes over the conversation.



img src

In one of those occasions at my old job, I decided to throw out the possibility that time travel is practically possible, yet not theoretically so. Of course, the first few seconds those who were around me, listening to my ridiculous assertion took a step back, but you would be surprised how I got them to agree.

Ok, I know you started to type a comment and you think @meno has officially lost it. As a matter of fact a regular visitor of this blog asked me if I was losing it the other day, and I can't blame him. I do like to think about weird things, but unlike what you would expect, thinking about them does not hurt my head in the slightest. Writing them down, actually makes me feel better. So, before you tell me to seek help, let me ask you some questions.

How do you know time has passed? Meaning, what mechanisms are you using to measure what has happened in your life? The things you have seen, the people you've talked to, the events that shaped you, all of that. How do you make sense of it all?

Could the answer be memories? Yes, that makes sense. At a basic level, the way you remember things, the way your brain stores each event, each conversation, each emotional state, is precisely how you gauge time. So, let me ask you this, what happens if you can alter your memories? What happens if you can remember things differently, or forget?

If your past is just a collection of memories, then who is to say you can change the collection? And that is effectively time traveling. Now, you are going to tell me it's not, because you never went back in reality. Yes, of course I get that, but what if you don't know that. At least, what if you don't know anymore. What difference would it make to you? to me?

Imagine, just imagine for a second that you could modify the most painful experience you've ever had. Imagine that you reacted differently, imagine that the person who broke your heart, you never loved anyways, etc. Process that thought experiment in your head for just a minute and then attempt to embrace that momentary reality, and visit the emulated you.

Now, I know that emulated self is fleeting. You won't be able to hold on to it for long. But, let me ask you. How did it feel? Did you feel some weight off your shoulders be lifted? - I can only speak from personal experience, but honestly... Every time I do this, I gain a lot of perspective, a lot, and just for that, I find the thought experiment very valuable.

Now, do you see what I mean by practical time traveling and not theoretical? - What a way to start a Saturday morning, right?


• Friday Talk - Helpienauts 8/3/2018
• Humanizing our enemies
• Going for the Field Goal
• The Controversial Mary
• What's the right move for Steemians?

Sort:  

I guess if you are able to not only alter your memory but also the memory of those around you you change the past practically, because no one would know what really happened... and both would have a changed memory!

What you are describing actually happens as a defense mechanism, people get heartbroken and then their minds sometimes change and they start to wonder if they ever loved that person, realizing in the end that they didn't (sometime they did, but it's easier and better to lie to yourself then to see the truth)

Hey bud... i don't know why I've not asked you... Are you on discord?

Reach out to Serena... paintingangels(serena)#3668

@paintingangels

I want to show you something.

I have stuff to show. It's true.

I am... Teutonium#2700 I'll reach out

That's the "past version" of time traveling. What about future?
In my opinion visualization(not imagination) can be the best way of traveling to future and actually create it...sometimes. In the case of the past this kind of time traveling that you wrote about is much easier to accomplish than it is with the future. BUT I do believe that it's possible both ways. It just needs huge trust in the process and a lot of practice.

In my opinion visualization(not imagination) can be the best way of traveling to future and actually create it...sometimes.

No doubt... I often talk to friends about setting goals, seeing yourself somewhere... giving yourself a due date.

Just floating down the river of life, does little to nothing.

I believe in past lives, and so really this conversation can go far beyond the realm of simple time travel and memories from this life, but I think memories from past lives could factor into this as well. Maybe you're right. But some things are accurately documented in newspapers and dates on the back of photos, so we know we were in those times .. right? I know I was born in 1975. Was I? Maybe 1975 is really a memory of a different time? I think i'm confused.

I was surprised to ser Hornetmusic here, but It made me smile... hhahaha

But yeah Serena... being confused can be fun, specially if the coffee is strong.

Sorry I haven’t been on in a while. Day job is wearing me out. But I’ll be back. 🤘🏻

Also I just typed that from my husband's account. This is paintingangels. not hornetmusic.

And so my very existence at all right now is a lie.

Now my existence is truth..

Crafty article. You sucked us in with the sexy sci-fi concept of time travel, only to turn the concept to the Tony Robbins type concept of the power of positive thinking.

As it happens, I completely agree. Only through active efforts at thinking can you turn a life around. Passive thinking just results in a circular life of repeating the same old patterns.

Good reminder! ;)

I bamboozld yalls!

Hey Rodney.. are you on discord btw? If you are not.. don't self bamboozle - join.

No, I don't have discord. Never heard of it till I saw people mention it here. I may get it, but first steps first, I gotta get some proper blog posts under my belt. Mr Procrastination, you know how it is. :)

time travel is possible its just not how the movies make out to be ;)

You got a 35.92% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

There is a world inside each mind, so with all of us remembering things differently or doing an effort to change the way we remember things in very different ways it would seem that we live in a world populated by individuals from different timelines...

I liked your publication, see mine, I wait for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67