Would it all have been worth it?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)
The purpose of this post is not to add more fear into the mix, there is plenty of that, but simply to bring to the table a different perspective with the hope of evaluating ourselves, our convictions and expectations.



Is the easy road a myth?


I've heard plenty of times that people who pick the easy road always end up last. This is not to say that I disagree or something, but it seems to me like the concept of easy is too subjective to say the least.

One thing that might be easy for you, might be extremely difficult for me. I for one have some interesting quirks and even though I'm not socially inept, or at least I don't think so, sometimes my pride gets the best of me and I deprive myself of solutions.

Some say that there is nothing wrong in asking for help, and intellectually I agree. Sometimes one really has to accept that the weight is too much, and allow people who can help us, people that want to help us, to do so. But, opening my mouth in these instances becomes quite difficult, when in all others it's not.

I question then, if there is such thing as easy, and if the problem lies in the judgement, not so much in the actions themselves. But, for all that I still don't know, there are some truths I happen to grip to with white knuckles.

In effort there is value


And it's because this is the only thing I happen to really believe in these days, I tend to lean on this wall quite often. I mean, there is absolutely no other way for it to be, for it to work.

If there was no effort, no work, then how could we measure value? Where would the value come from? I should specify that within the context of my mental exploration, I'm referring to commoditized, I'm talking about socio-economics elements, and not so much experiential ones, because for those none of this logic applies.

It's also precisely because of this understanding, that I'm comfortable with the concept of value creation out of "nothing", the pebble in the shoe that makes inhabitants of the legacy system seem so alien to us at times.

Effort != Guarantee


The second truth I detest, but I've come to accept as well. To ignore it's weight, is to fall victim to thoughts of entitlement. There is a chance, a possibility, that we will put a lot of effort into something, invest, not only financially but also emotionally and see the sands never sprout a single seedling.

Does it matter? Should it matter? Would you or I act any different if we really grasped this thought, as nihilistic as it may be to say so? I don't know, I can't make up my mind, but I do know that exploring this puts my expectations in check, and shields me, at least partially, from disappointment.

So to leave you with a question, to leave you with a thought, not with the intent of ruining your evening, but just bringing you to "real":

If nothing works as we planned, would it all have been worth it?

Sort:  

I would say a resounding yes. In the context of here, I have grown immeasurably by writing on this old platform. Before for me it was always a wish, to find the time, to do something like this. It took the dangling carrot of reward for me to go for it and I couldn't be more grateful.

So if it all goes teats up as they say, there are gains and positives to be taken away :0)

Boom, I totally echo this

I'm with you 100% - to me, I already won....

Yeah, there's something interesting about the pennies that Steemit promises that provides just enough motivation to get at it and try. The pennies aren't really the reward, though.

Another element to consider is luck. Some do not want to admit it but luck plays a large role in success as “the right place at the right time” could make things much easier than going against the tide. That is why I look at this opportunity here as early adopters of what could be... However, there are never any givens!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will keep fighting, of course. There is no other thought

we fooled ourselves

As someone who isn't really great at posting or commenting as often as I should, I am sad to say that most of my SP is purchased. I haven't really worked for it and so I don't know if my viewpoint is really useful for those who built their stake here.

That said, as far as I am concerned, I have made some of my closest friends here. I am a person who has trouble developing connections in person. It can happen given the right set of circumstances (and has; I do have some 3D friends), but the vast majority of my closest relationships start on the screen.

I have been a Steemian for almost a year now; about eleven months. In that time I have had some of my favourite interactions with my fellow human beings and have befriended souls most unique and beautiful.

So yes, @meno... a thousand times yes. It's worth it. No matter what happens.

If it doesn't work what we have done in my opinion all of that will not be in vain, at least what we do will be a lesson for ourselves and can be a lesson for the future.

I don't even have to think about that for a second. Of course it would have been worth it. If tomorrow would be the end of all this, I would have no regrets at all.

The people I've met, the friends I've made, all the things I learned - about a lot of different things, but especially about myself... those are things I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

It would have been even móre than worth it, there's no doubt in my mind about that. So I'm already at peace with everything in case it doesn't work out as planned. It would be a shame, but it definitely served its purpose

Posted using Partiko Android

I love to say to people that, if something have easy steps doesn't mean that is easily achieved.
Like, create a statue of potatoes, you just need to put one potato on to top of the other. It's a easy step but not so easy to achieved the objective.
That is the same here on steem. You just need to be engaged on community and write good posts. Simple, but hard to do day after day, and yet, just because you did that, doesn't mean that you will be reward.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :)

This post was upvoted by SteeveBot!

SteeveBot regularly upvotes stories that are appreciated by the community around Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86