You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding Philosophy in Unlikely Places: Honesty, Contentment, and Two Really Stupid Cartoon Characters

Funnily enough it was their laughing at inappropriate things that actually started me watching them. I always used to wonder why my now husband watched it, then one day I paused to watch with him. The episode was where they were at the golf course. Beavis got hit on the back of the head with a golf ball and knocked face down into the shallow water. I was almost horrified by Butthead laughing at him, presumably drowning, until it showed Beavis laughing too, with it bubbling from the water. My amazement at them finding such a thing so funny, got me hooked.

To this day I can usually make hubby giggle with a Beavis and Butthead reference. "Yeh, huh huh, no" is usually a favourite. We have a DVD collection and when our daughters were puzzled by us giggling over these strange references we told them to watch the DVDs. Now they get it.

Another thing that used to amaze me was how you could say of Mike Judge's characters: "I know someone like that!" I'd like to say that they were an exaggerated version of the people they imitated, but they generally weren't! Okay, maybe Beavis and Butthead themselves were exaggerated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Haha I love that golf episode.

"Another thing that used to amaze me was how you could say of Mike Judge's characters: 'I know someone like that!'"

That is something he is really great at. I kind of wish a studio would just throw a bunch of money at him and let him make whatever he wants.

"Many balls look the same, sir" 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88