You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Credit Where it's Due.

No apologies necessary. I've learnt so much, not least pay better attention whilst reading. You did say the first world war and I assumed second! Yet even in my jumping to conclusions I've gained another pearl of wisdom:

what counts is the mental age, and as we know, we are all just small children who wonder all the time what is this adult outer shell that we suddenly now happen to have.

It also makes me realise that in many ways the first war was overshadowed by the second and many of us have learnt little about it. In a way that's a shame, because there should always be something to be learnt from these sorts of horrors.

My grandfather on my mother's side straddled both wars, but was too young to be sent to the fighting the first time and too old the second. And now I'm going way off topic! It certainly makes me feel lucky to have never experienced war, but I've often wondered if I will have to in my lifetime.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It certainly makes me feel lucky to have never experienced war, but I've often wondered if I will have to in my lifetime.

Me too lucky and me too wondering. I think there are nations and leaders that seem to have learned very little from previous wars and history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90