You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poking the Hornet's Nest the right way

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

The feature film, One Less God, that I’m one of the leading actors in that is being released in cinemas this year begins with a profound quote:
“If our children are dying for the sake of our beliefs, isn’t it time our beliefs began dying for the sake of our children.”

Too often we debate or argue without paying mind to the consequences or even our purpose or what we want for an outcome.
When ‘consciously’ entering into debate, we really should (on both sides) know what our goal is, lest it descend into a frustrating emotional butting of heads, where both feel depleted and defeated (or coming across as just supercilious), which it all too often does, especially as it does online. Why? Because it is devoid of body language and tone of voice, which is what over 80% of what we communicate comes from and why so much of what we desperately try to convey in online debates gets massively misconstrued.
Steemit offsets a portion of that problem by discouraging destructive negativity, but not all of it.
Discord doesn’t offset it. In fact, I think it magnifies the problem.

I love a good joust, but I’ve found, more often than not, that rarely are online debates actually good (productive) jousts. Yet I still too often find myself in the midst of them.

Over the years I’ve come to identify closely with a profound spiritual wisdom, “do you wish to be right or do you wish to be happy?”
That is the true metaphorical ‘red pill.’
If we each hold that question close at heart when we next enter into debate, I’m certain that we will all be winners, in that we might actually expand our own knowledge and wisdom, rather than be shouting in an echo chamber or yelling our perspective at the wind wondering why less and less people are close by.

Another fantastically though provoking and engaging article, my friend @meno.
Thanks again, mate.
👍🏽🙏🏽

Sort:  

By the way, @meno, remind me to tell you my hornet nest story sometime.

I might bug you later for this story! ha!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66