Capitalism, or what? Defining myself.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy6 years ago

I consider myself a capitalist. I do so because I see profit as an important means to an even more important end. The end being moral progress of civilization and an increased quality of life for all.

I don't necessarily agree that there's such thing as too much profit in and of itself. If someone is able to bring a valuable product to market, they deserve to reap the reward. To me, it's more about how the profit is used.

PicsArt_01-14-02.02.17.jpg

Greed is a problem that is often correlated with capitalism. I'm not a greedy person. Personally, if I had a billion dollars, or some gross over abundance of money, I would almost certainly not keep it. I don't have that kind of money, so I know it doesn't mean much to say that, but i have friends that could put any of my personal excess to much greater use than I could. As voluntarist, I can't justify making another person do the same though.

That's why it's important to talk about these things. While it's not right to force someone to do something, provided what they're doing doesn't directly harm anyone, it's definitely good to openly discuss and engage in morally progressive uses of value. Be that donation to charity, investing in a friend's business, or reinvesting in your own business, the approach is up to you.

Personally, I'm needing to reinvest in my shop because there are ways that I could be more useful if I had more capabilities. I like the idea of reinvesting because it pays double. You invest value into a valuable asset, which increases usefulness and profitability. In my case, a new welder would make me able to offer more services and help me help more people.

As always, I would love nothing more than to discuss these things with more people! Y'all stay warm, be back soon

Nate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70