You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greed knows no bounds?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Excellent thoughts. Reminded me a lot of the distinction Ayn Rand makes in her book Atlas Shrugged. Not sure I agree with all of her thoughts, but I found this illuminating.
She says there are people who earn money by producing - and this is what I also read in your post, whether it's producing clean buildings or value on steem.
Then there are the leechers - those who feel they earn the right to live and have money because they are in need of it. They will hunt down the producers, make them feel bad because they have more - and in case of steem, have a higher reputation.
The ethics and the basic way of looking at life and what is value is different for these two groups. And Rand is sure, and I am with her on this, that we should never allow to make society in a place where people who produce value are the victims of those who do not.

Sort:  

I realise I'm often mentioning Rand here, but it's just because I've just finished her book that has impressed me a lot, made me think about many things. (Which is how I define a good book, to make you think & reconsider your own life and position - so Atlas Shrugged was an incredible book for me)

This is most of the current banking system, corporations squeezing supply chains for profits and a most of the world. For me, I may die with very little but the plan is to add more to the world than I took.

I have heard of Ayn Rand but don't actually read that much of anything these days. I am a terrible student :)

Yes. And I wonder if cryptocurrency (which I admit know very little about) is doomed to fall in line with the same leeching business, or can go a different way. Same question for social media platforms.
Not really expecting an answer to this one, but am thinking about it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81