You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giving to Charity is Dumb

in #philosophy6 years ago

Giving to charity should not be confused with helping people, and I think that is among the many points raised here. Giving to charity is smart if you're looking to offset taxes, and also if you wish to remain ignorant and feel like you're helping. It is true that one's hard-earned funds, donated, may help to a small degree, but I doubt that is what folks envision when they give. If one wants to truly help out their fellow man or a worthy cause, and cannot control how the money is used, I've found the best thing one can do is "dig in" and give your time and sweat towards whatever the goal is. Seek ways to be that ladder that helps the person take that extra step towards their next accomplishment. Be a catalyst by using your talents for the benefit of that worthy cause. I once saw a woman begging for money in the rain. I stopped my car and did not giver her any money. I handed her an umbrella and let her know God loves her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89